Launch Out Into The Deep!

Luke 5:4-6 When He had stopped speaking, He said to Simon, “Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.” But Simon answered and said to Him, “Master, we have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at Your word I will let down the net.” And when they had done this, they caught a great number of fish, and their net was breaking.

 

Have you ever felt that God was calling you to launch out into the deep and you couldn’t see any way that it would work? Simon felt that way after he had fished all night and not caught anything and then Jesus told him to let down his nets for a catch. God loves to lead us out into uncharted territory where He can do the impossible through us!

Simon was tired, he was ready to go home after a long night of fishing with no results. He knew from his years of professional fishing that the best fishing was done at night and if you hadn’t caught anything all night you probably would not do any good fishing during the day. And yet He stepped out in faith when he got instructions from the Master….”Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch”. Simon began to tell the Lord why it wouldn’t work but he quickly changed his attitude. “Nevertheless at YOUR WORD I will let down the net.” (emphasis mine)

I have felt this way myself. A couple of years ago God impressed upon me the need to further my education. He told me to go back to school to get my bachelor’s degree. I was totally unprepared for that! Me, at age 60, go back to school? It seemed like such an impossibility to think I could, at my age, earn a college degree. I was close to retirement age; it was not the normal time that I would think about pursuing an education; it was the time when I was thinking about retiring. And yet all through my working years I had said that I couldn’t wait to retire so I could go into the ministry full time. I had been serving Him for years, fulfilling the calling that I knew He had on my life and working a full-time job as well as raising my children. But to think that at age 60 I would need to pursue a college degree was quite frightening. I had all the excuses just like Simon thinking why it wasn’t the perfect time to fish when Jesus told him to let down his nets for a catch. I was too old; I hadn’t been in school for over 40 years; my memory wasn’t as sharp as it used to be, etc., etc., etc.! So I put it off for several months hoping the Lord would forget about it. But He didn’t! I waited almost a year before I really began to investigate the possibility of taking online classes for a degree in Christian Counseling.

So, in September of 2010 I started my courses. My employer had closed the office where I worked and terminated all the employees so I had lost my job as a result of it and they had provided some re-training assistance funds in our severance packages. I wanted to use those funds to start my college education but I only had four months left before they would no longer be available. I felt I had waited too long, that this was an impossible situation. But I hadn’t factored in the supernatural power of God to make a way where there seemed to be no way. He knew I was short on time, but nothing is impossible to Him. I had enough re-training funds for 10 courses and they had to be completed within those last 4 months. The college personnel said it was not humanly possible to complete them in that length of time but that they would do everything they could to help me get it done. My instructor worked diligently to help me plan a course of action and stay on course to reach my goal. I worked as if it all depended on me and prayed as if it all depended on God! I watched in amazement as He miraculously worked in my life enabling me to complete all ten courses, not only within the allotted time frame, but 2 weeks ahead of time! Where God leads He always provides! As I get closer to completion, He continues to anoint me to complete each course on time, with excellence, and earning a 4.0 grade point average. Now, that’s a boat load of fish to me! I imagine Simon was surprised when he and the others pulled in that net full of fish, just as I’ve been amazed every time God has supernaturally anointed me to complete a course with excellence!

What about you? Has God asked you to do what seemed to be the impossible? Has He told you to “launch out into the deep”. Fishing under the directions of the Master is so much fun! When He speaks a word and you step out in faith depending on it to be so, you will not be disappointed. He will not let you down. Your response in faith pleases the Father and when you step out at the Master’s call you are allowing Him to stretch you and take you to a new level in your walk with Him! Why don’t you ask Him to lead you out into the deep so you can have some fun fishing with the Master, too?

Father, I thank You for Your supernatural ability within me that enables me to succeed at what You have called me to do. I thank You that I can know that where You lead You always provide. Thank You for the joy of serving You and those that you place in my path. Thank You for allowing me to minister Your word to the lost and those who are hurting and in need of salvation and deliverance. I pray for my friends that You will lead them to the place where You can minister to them and through them; wholeness to their spirits, souls and bodies. Thank You, Father. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

