The Weapon of Praying In The Spirit

The next weapon in our arsenal for spiritual warfare is the Weapon of Praying in the Spirit. It has been termed as a secret weapon because it is primarily known as praying in tongues and only the Holy Spirit as He prays through us knows exactly what is being said.

 

This blog is written from my own experience in Him, a place of having been baptized in the Holy Spirit with the evidence of speaking in other tongues. Before I reached this place of understanding in Him I had a lot of questions. I spent a year praying and studying the Word of God before I would step out in faith asking God to fill me to overflowing with all that He had for me. God answered my prayer and I received my heavenly prayer language and I have been praying in tongues every day since. When I do not know how to pray effectively in the natural for someone I will pray in my heavenly prayer language because the Spirit of God within me knows exactly how to pray for that person or situation. I do not question what I am saying; I just trust God to fill my mouth with His prayers that are needed at that specific time.

 

Romans 8:26-27 Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

 

God’s Spirit within me knows what to pray for everyone. When I pray in that heavenly prayer language that He gave me when I was baptized in His Spirit, He prays through me according to the perfect will of the Father. I can trust Him to pray exactly what that person needs. I don’t have to understand what I am praying because the Holy Spirit prays according to the perfect will of God for that other person. All I have to do is yield to Him to be the vessel that He prays through in that situation.

 

1 Corinthians 14:2 For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him; however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries.

 

When I yield my tongue to be used of the Holy Spirit in this type of praying it is as if God Himself is praying to Himself through me, speaking mysteries into existence through the spirit realm. This is not a prayer for the hearing and understanding of other people, it is simply the Holy Spirit within my spirit carrying prayers to the Father.

 

Paul said that he wished we all spoke in tongues. (1 Corinthians 14:5) In that portion of scripture he is talking about the supernatural gifts of the Spirit, of which tongues is one. There are other gifts of the Spirit that are spoken of in that chapter as well as 1 Corinthians 12. All are valid gifts from the Father. If the gift of tongues comes forth in a church service there must be an interpreter that can hear from God through the gift of the interpretation of tongues to be able to share that interpretation with the church so the whole body of believers can be built up or edified. Tongues with the interpretation of the tongue equals prophesy, the supernatural utterance of a message from God for the church. When you are praying alone in your own prayer language that is just between you and God and you do not have to have an interpretation, however, God can give you one if He feels it is beneficial to your situation at the time. Paul goes on to say in 1 Corinthians 14:15:

 

What is the conclusion then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will also pray with the understanding. I will sing with the spirit, and I will also sing with the understanding.

 

He is saying that there is a place for both praying in the natural and praying in the spirit, or the heavenly prayer language. Paul says this about it in 1 Corinthians 14:18, 19: I thank my God that I speak with tongues more than you all, yet in the church I would rather speak five words with my understanding, that I may teach others also, than ten thousand words in a tongue. A person’s individual prayer language is best when used privately in your own individual prayer time so that it doesn’t cause confusion in the church service. When I am in church I usually will not prayer in my prayer language unless I am in our pre-service prayer time where we are all praying in the Spirit. When in the service it is best to reserve that heavenly language for when God gives a message in tongues for the interpretation to build up the whole church. The gift of tongues that is spoken of in 1 Corinthians 12:10 is a different aspect of speaking in tongues than your heavenly prayer language used to communicate spirit to Spirit as you pray. Both are tongues but the gift of tongues is specifically given as the Spirit wills for the edification of the church as a message in tongues and must have an interpretation after it comes forth. The church cannot be edified if they can’t understand the message that God is giving through the tongue.

 

Why, then, would it be beneficial for us to pray in tongues?

  1. God prays through you His will for a situation. (Romans 8:27)
  2. The devil doesn’t understand the language of the Spirit and is confused when we pray in tongues.
  3. It is evidence of the infilling of the Holy Spirit and He is the one giving the utterance. (Acts 2:4)
  4. It builds your faith and your ability to persevere. (Jude 20)
  5. It gives you power to become God’s witnesses. (Acts 1:8)

 

You might say, well, what if I don’t have a heavenly prayer language? Am I less effective than someone who does? In answer to these questions, I would have to say that you are just at a different place in your walk with the Lord and He will instruct you in how to pray as effectively as possible right where you are. If you would like to be baptized in His Spirit with the evidence of speaking in other tongues you can receive that gift just as you received forgiveness of your sin; by God’s grace, through your faith. It is refreshing to pray in tongues because when you feel that you have run out of words in the natural you can switch over to praying in tongues and know that God is praying through you without your mind having to weigh every thought and process the right words. It is just something that must be received by faith; intellect cannot understand the ways of the Spirit.

 

Acts 2:4 And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance.

 

Father, I thank You for filling me to overflowing with Your very own Spirit and giving me my heavenly prayer language with which I can use to pray effectively in situations where I don’t have the right words to pray in the natural. Thank You, Lord, for praying through me according to Your perfect will as I yield my tongue to You. I pray, Father, for those who do not have that heavenly prayer language that they will not feel inferior to any other believer in the body of Christ, for all who have received Jesus as Savior and Lord are Your children. There is none superior to another. I pray that if they want to be baptized in Your Spirit, Lord, that they will ask and then receive their heavenly prayer language. Thank You, Father, for leading us in the way that You would have us to go to fulfill Your plan for our lives. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 12:12:15

    Isn’t this just the most exciting way to live life? For me it makes life like one adventure after another because you can actually see things happening in certain people and certain situations and in your own life when praying in tongues.

    I just think this is just so awesome that our Lord can use me and any of us as God is praying to God.

    He also gives us interpretation of what we are saying in many different ways and at different times what we had been praying for will become crystal clear.

    Praying in tongues is the most glorious way to live life to the fullest and your bog for today is so thrilling and up lifting and makes me so happy just reading this,

    Thank you Avie Have a great day.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jun 28, 2012 @ 12:22:58

      Thank you, Bobbie! Yes, I have been so blessed by being able to pray in tongues! It takes the feeling of responsibility for prayer from off my shoulders and allows me to rest in the Lord knowing that He is praying through me according to the perfect will of the Father.

      Have a great day, Bobbie! God Bless you!

      Reply

  2. Men of One Accord
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 02:48:12

    We have a men’s prayer group our next topic is going to be alone the lines of this. Thank-you for helping me out and may I quote you? God bless you!

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 03:05:47

      Thank you! Yes, of course. I write what I feel the Lord has given me so it’s Him that we should be quoting and praising! Nothing I can do in and of myself is worth anything! Blessings to you in the name of Jesus!

      Reply

  3. cindyhfrench
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 03:10:22

    Avie, I found you through a comment you made on someone else’s blog about praying in the spirit and I must tell you that is the best presentation of who, what, where,how, why with
    praying in the spirit I have ever read or heard. It reasonated with my mpsiri t. because I feelthe same way. come by and visit me some time http://cindyhfrench.com

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 11:14:54

      Thank you, Cindy! I appreciate you taking the time to read my blog, like it and subscribe to following it. I endeavor to hear the Father’s voice and share as He instructs me. May you be blessed through reading my upcoming blogs. I will stop by and check yours out, too! God Bless!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: A GOOD PRIZE DRAWS MORE OPPONENTS « Christian Notions
  5. 1woman2women
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 12:59:22

    Thank God for the baptism of the Holy Ghost. He is our comforter and he will lead you and guide you.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: PROCLAIMING GODS TRUTH EVERYDAY « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com
    • aviesplace2012
      Sep 06, 2012 @ 10:17:00

      Thank you for linking my blog to yours! Yes, I believe very strongly in praying in the Spirit! God gave me a heavenly prayer language to win over the enemy’s attacks! It is very important!

      God Bless you! May the Lord continue to bless your ministry!

      Reply

  7. holyyoly
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 12:40:41

    praying in tongues is the most awesome gift that God gave to christians we need to use this gift more

    Reply

  8. Trackback: PROCLAIMING GODS TRUTH EVERYDAY | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

