The Armor!

Ephesians 6:11-13 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil, For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

We’ve been looking at spiritual warfare, the weapons that God has given us to fight spiritual battles and today I want to talk with you about the soldier’s armor. God has armor that fits every believer. He has a tailor made suit of armor that will cover you for the battle depending on what type of battle it is. His armor covers you, is the right size and fit for you as an individual. The general description of His armor is found in Ephesians 6:14-18, but before we look at that portion of scripture let’s look at Ephesians 6:11-13.

The first thing I see about the armor is that it is the armor of God; not our own armor or what we think we need to wear to go out to the battle. God’s armor is the only thing that will work. This reminds me of when David went out to fight Goliath and Saul wanted him to wear his armor.

1 Samuel 17:38, 39 So Saul clothed David with his armor, and he put a bronze helmet on his head; he also clothed him with a coat of mail. David fastened his sword to his armor and tried to walk, for he had not tested them. And David said to Saul, “I cannot walk with these, for I have not tested them.” So David took them off.

Saul wanted David to wear his own personal armor, but it didn’t fit David properly. He hadn’t used it or tested it to see if he could fight in it. Our armor that is God’s is a perfect fit, designed for exactly what we need it to do. But we must test it. The way that we test the armor is by understanding the specifics of each piece, how it applies to our lives and the way we receive it through our relationship with Christ Jesus and then applying that knowledge to our lives. If we are not living close to Him how can we hear His voice to follow His commands in using the armor of God? The armor is not a physical suit that we put on, it is a spiritual garment that covers us, since we are not in a fight with flesh and blood but with spiritual forces of wickedness.

I experienced an encounter with the Lord one morning at the altar time at my church where I was slain in the Spirit, or as some say, overcome by the Spirit. During that time I had a vision of me standing behind the pulpit at my church delivering a message to the congregation. I saw Jesus standing behind me and as I was expounding on the word of God He moved forward closer to me to where He finally just walked into me. I saw Him fade into my very being. He reminded me of this scripture about Gideon:

Judges 6:34 But the Spirit of the LORD came upon Gideon; then he blew the trumpet, and the Abiezrites gathered behind him.

 

The Hebrew meaning of the phrase “the Spirit of the LORD came upon Gideon” literally means “The Spirit of the LORD clothed Himself with Gideon”. This is what I saw in my vision; the Lord clothed Himself with me.

It is said of Saul in 1 Samuel 10:6, 7 “Then the Spirit of the LORD will come upon you, and you will prophesy with them and be turned into another man. “And let it be, when these signs come to you, that you do as the occasion demands; for God is with you.”

The armor of God is a spiritual clothing that He establishes within us as we yield to Him to go into the battle. It is as understand that we are “one” with Him that we are suited up to win against the enemy in spiritual warfare. We become more like him, or as He comes upon us we are turned into a different person; we are clothed to fight and win the battles. Jesus prayed for his disciples and those who would follow after them in John 17. Here’s what He said in prayer for us as believers:

John 17:20-23 “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; “That they all may be one as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me. “And the glory which You gave me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one; “I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me.”

Jesus’ prayer for us was that we would be “One” with Him and the Father; that He would be in us and us in Him just as He and the Father are “One”. It is through this union with God that the realization of how the armor of God works becomes a reality to us. As we look at the general description of the armor in detail we will see how each particular piece is fitted to us to equip us to win.

Jesus prayed also for us in John 17:15: “I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one.”

 

We live in this world where there is constant evil going on around us. As long as we are in the world we will have trouble, but God has provided all that we need to fight the good fight of faith and win!

John 16:33 “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

Peace is a by-product of our union with Christ Jesus and flows to us as we suit up in Him and walk in the power and anointing that He places within us through our union with Him.

It is as we grow in our knowledge of who we are “in Him” that we are equipped with His armor for battle. He doesn’t deny the fact that we are going to have to go into the battle, but the key to winning is being in Him because He has already defeated the evil one. Satan was defeated on the cross of Calvary when Jesus was crucified for our sin, sickness and disease and poverty. Jesus said in Luke 10:19: “Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you.” That word for “hurt” in Luke 10:19 means “to act criminally against you; to take illegal action against you to mistreat you”. The only ground that Satan can take from us is the ground that we give up to him. He has no legal right in the life of the believer to hurt us. But we still have to fight him off. He has to be convinced that he doesn’t have the right to afflict or steal, kill and destroy the life of a believer in Christ Jesus.

The victory is ours, but we must enforce what Jesus has died to give us. 2 Corinthians 2:14: Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.

We, as born again believers in Jesus Christ, have our place “in Him”, and He will lead us to triumph over the devil in our lives. It is through our relationship with Him that we understand that we have already won the battle. We learn how to enforce the victory through fighting in the armor that He places on us as we draw near to Him.

Ephesians 6:13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Father, I thank You that You have already made us the victors in the battles that we fight against the evil one. Thank You for equipping us with Your armor that fits perfectly and protects us when we war against the devil. Lord, to You be the glory for the victory as You have already defeated Satan on the cross of Calvary. Thank You for giving us, Your church, the authority over all the power of the enemy. I thank You that Satan cannot legally inflict pain against Your children. It is only through lies and deception that he works his evil powers. Help us to be aware of his schemes; the wiles that he uses to stand against us. Thank You, Father, for the victory in Christ Jesus! Thank You for hearing and answering the prayers that I offer up to You in the name of Jesus! Amen.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 20:08:58

    I am trying to find the right words to share how I feel about spiritual warfare.

    I get excited about it because it gives me a chance to prove who I am in Jesus and who He is in me. It is like an adventure into a new and untried undertaking since it is an unseen forceful force that I am engaged in.

    I hesitate to say I love or enjoy or adore warfare in the spirit but it does get my juices flowing. It is like I am putting on my boxing gloves and getting myself suited up and ready by training for the big fight The big fight that has already been won and the opponent has already been defeated but I have to show him that I know that I am the winner and he is the loser and he is under my feet simply because the Word says so.

    For me anything to do with Jesus and the heavenly realms of living, the unseen forces of life just tantalize me and get me throwing punches because I know who I am backed by. All of the heavenly realm backs me up in this warfare just so long as I stay in the Spirit and the Word and listen and hear and obey.

    It has taken me years to realize just how much we are responsible for our lives and walking in over coming power and the authority of Jesus given to us at the moment of our conversion. It truly is alll up to us just how far we let Satan have control or power over any part of us or our lives.

    What an excellent and precious blog this is so filled with truth and how to live on this earth during this age and being an over comer over all all of the time.

    If somone thinks they can defeat Satan on their own they have already lost.

    This is a spiritual battle done according to the way of Jesus and Holy Spirit and the Word of God and our comprehension of who we are in Christ and who He is in us.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jun 30, 2012 @ 20:37:37

      Hi Bobbie! I don’t think any of us really look forward to going into the battle but since we are living in this world we are constantly placed in the position to fight. Knowing who you are in Christ Jesus and how He has equipped us to fight and win makes the difference in how the battle goes. That’s what we want to learn through this series. It is not a battle that can be fought in the natural and won; it has to be in the spirit because we are fighting against spiritual entities.

      Thanks for your insightful comments! Be blessed in the name of Jesus!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: BE ENCOURAGED PEOPLE OF GOD « Vine and Branch World Ministries
    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 13:37:47

      Thank you, Pastor Davis, for linking my blog on The Armor to your blog of encouragement to the people of God. I join with you in encouraging the people to be strong in the Lord and in praying for the people of Aurora, Colorado, in their time of sorrow! God Bless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

