High-Tech Weapons

1 Corinthian 12:4-11 But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all; for to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit, to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills.

 

The gifts of the Spirit are high-tech weapons that God has made available to us through the Holy Spirit to defeat the works of the enemy in our lives and the lives of those for whom we are praying. These are the gifts of the Spirit, not ours to be used at our will, but His to be used as He sees fit. He flows through believers to touch the hearts and lives of people for His glory, not ours. We are His body, and as such, when we yield ourselves to His Spirit, He will touch through us bringing salvation, healing and deliverance to those in need.

 

Jesus told His disciples in Mark 16:15-20 that they were to go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. He said there were certain signs that would follow those who believe.

 

Mark 16:17 “And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; “they will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

 

And in verse 20 the word says:

 

And they went out and preached everywhere, the Lord working with them and confirming the word through the accompanying signs. Amen.

 

God is waiting for us to do our part in preaching the gospel and ministering healing and deliverance to those around us so that He can confirm His word through what we say and do!

 

I remember a few years ago I was in a park near my home walking early in the morning, as was my daily custom, and as I walked I would pray. So, this one morning I was walking on the track when an elderly couple pulled up in their car. I watched as this sweet, little lady got out of her car and began making her way down to the track. She could barely shuffle along. I could tell that it took everything she had within her to walk that distance to the track. As I was walking towards her the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart and asked me to stop her and pray for her. I was not used to approaching someone that I didn’t know in that manner and, being somewhat of a shy person, I spoke to her and walked right on past her giving the Lord some lame excuse about not knowing her and being shy and not wanting to offend her in case she wouldn’t receive my offer of prayer. Well, He didn’t let me off that easily, so as I approached her on the next trip around He asked me to pray for her again. This time I obeyed. I spoke to her and told her my name and that I walked there every morning and usually prayed as I walked. Then I told her that as I was walking that morning the Lord asked me to stop and pray for her and would she mind if I did that. She very graciously accepted my offer so I laid my hands on her frail, little body and began to pray for God to touch her with His healing power. I closed my prayer and she thanked me and we both went on our way. I didn’t see any immediate result of my prayer but day after day she began to walk more briskly and with a strength that had not been visible when she first came to the track. It was evident that Mark 16:18 “they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover” was working in her physical body. One day as we met she stopped me and thanked me for praying for her. She said she had gone to the same church for 50 years and no one had ever prayed for her like I did. She was so grateful…..and I was so blessed!

 

God opens doors for us to be His body; to minister His love, grace, and healing power to those around us. But how many times do we slough it off? How often do we accept His offer to be His mouthpiece, or His hands and feet? One illustration that the Lord gave me of how He wants to flow through us as His body is like a hand inside a glove. We are the glove and He is the hand that moves inside the glove.

 

When we yield to the Holy Spirit for Him to flow through us to touch people He becomes the voice within us speaking God’s word or the hand inside of us; the One doing the work through us. It is then that He ministers His gifts through His people, His body.

 

I often tell the ladies that are preparing for counseling and deliverance sessions that most of our session will be spent in prayer seeking the direction of the Holy Spirit for guidance and following the instructions He gives for deliverance. He can do in just a few minutes what might take me months to accomplish. It is as we yield to Him and ask Him to lead us and show us how to minister that He will be right there working through us to accomplish His will in that person’s life. The gifts that He gives are high-tech weapons used to help us overcome our shortcomings in spiritual warfare. We operate in the natural through our limited knowledge and ability, but when the Holy Spirit operates through us with one of His gifts it is done supernaturally and very often instantaneously! There is nothing that compares with Him!

 

It was said of Jesus in Luke 4:18, 19: “The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, Because He has anointed me To preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to the captives And recovery of sight to the blind, To set at liberty those who are oppressed; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD.”

 

We don’t have any trouble accepting the fact that Jesus was God in the flesh, sent to do the will of the Father, to redeem mankind and bring healing and deliverance to those who were in bondage. But what about the verse that Jesus shares with His disciples in John 14:12?

 

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. “And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. “If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.”

 

“He who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do”. Do you believe in Him? Do you believe that He will do the same works and greater through you than He did Himself? Faith opens the door for Him to work through you just like it does in you receiving God’s grace for salvation, healing, or deliverance for your own personal benefit.

 

The man, Jesus of Nazareth, who walked on this earth preaching, teaching and healing, received His power from God through the anointing of His Spirit.

 

Acts 10:38 “how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power, who went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him.”

 

Jesus said in Acts 1:8 that when the Holy Spirit comes upon us we will receive power to be His witnesses.

 

“But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

 

The Holy Spirit is the person of the God-head that is in operation in the earth today. He is the Spirit of Christ Jesus that was sent when Jesus ascended back to heaven. Jesus described Him in John 16:7 as the “Helper”. He is working in and through His body in the world today. He has chosen to work through individual believers in the body of Christ.

 

1 Corinthians 12:27, 28 Now you are the body of Christ, and members individually. And God has appointed these in the church: first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, administrations, varieties of tongues.

 

Each one of us has a calling on our life to fulfill the will and purpose of God in reaching the lost and hurting around us. No one is more important than the other.

 

1 Corinthians 12:18-26 But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased. And if they were all one member, where would the body be? But now indeed there are many members, yet one body. And the eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you”; nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.” No, much rather, those members of the body which seem to be weaker are necessary. And those members of the body which we think to be less honorable, on these we bestow greater honor; and our unpresentable parts have greater modesty, but our presentable parts have no need. But God composed the body, having given greater honor to that part which lacks it, that there should be no schism in the body, but that the members should have the same care for one another. And if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it; or if one member is honored, all the members rejoice with it.

 

There is no one person in the body of Christ that is more important than another. God has set each one of us in the body as He pleased. We each have our own part to play in His work. He is the one working in us to establish His will and good pleasure.

 

Philippians 2:13 for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.

 

Jesus said that He didn’t do anything that He didn’t see the Father doing and He didn’t say anything on His own judgment.

 

John 5:19, 30 Then Jesus answered and said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner.” “I can of Myself do nothing. As I hear, I judge; and My judgment is righteous, because I do not seek My own will but the will of the Father who sent Me.”

 

The Son lived in such sweet communion with the Father that what He saw the Father doing was what He did. And He spoke only those things that He heard from the Father. Philippians 2:5-8 tells us that He laid His deity aside when He came to earth and submitted Himself to the will of the Father. He was anointed by the Holy Spirit, and followed the directions given by the Father to do His will. He is our perfect example of how God wants to now flow through His body of believers, to accomplish His will through the Spirit in our world today.

 

Father, I thank You for Jesus, who came to this earth, lived a life of ministry as You anointed Him by Your Spirit to do Your will. I thank You that He became our substitute for the payment for our sin. Thank You for redeeming us and placing us in You as Your body. Father, may we represent You well by listening to Your Spirit as You direct us in ministry. May we flow with the Holy Ghost as His mouthpiece and hands and feet! Father, do through us what You want to do to bring salvation to the lost and healing and deliverance to those who are in bondage. Fulfill Your will through us today, Father! In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolynrice
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 14:59:01

    Amazing post. We do the same thing in our restoration/deliverance ministry (listen for the Holy Spirit’s instruction). It’s really all about him and what He wants to do. I loved your story about praying for the woman too!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Follow the Holy Spirit « bummyla
  3. Roberta Northern
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 12:44:39

    Avie, Everything you have just shared is so very true.

    He wants us to disciple each and every person who is willing to be born from above and willing to be led of His Holy Spirit and to be discipled by His members of His body.

    We are to love everyone as we love our own selves and the only way we can even come close to loving our own selves is to believe and receive and commit and submit to the love of our marvelous Savior and Lord Jesus who comes to us because of the great unimagineable love of our Father God.

    We are all so greatly loved it is really hard to understand and comprehend how much He loves us because we are human and do not think as He thinks and we have to be regenerated, renewed, rejuvinated and restored which is called the new birth being born from above.for us to even allow ourselves to be wrapped in and soak up His great love and grace for us.

    Receiving His love for us is the cornerstone of us loving ourselves and all other people.

    Love is the driving force of wanting to do His will and to help all others to become one with Him and us as His body.

    We are here to share all of ourselves and our great transformation stories with each other to let others know that what He has done in our lives He is able to also in their lives.

    He has created us to need Him and then go out to help and love all others because we do need one another because of Him and His great wealth of love and grace for us.

    What a lovely and inspiring blog for me to eat for the day and I thank you.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Aug 23, 2012 @ 13:44:30

      Hi Bobbie! So good to hear from you!

      Yes, it is only as we know the love of the Father that we can love ourselves and pass that love on to others. You can’t give away something that you don’t own for yourself!

      Blessings to you, my friend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

