Do You Need A Little R & R?

Matthew 11:28-30 AMP Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.] Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls. For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good—not harsh; hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.

 

Do you ever feel overburdened? Has life become hard for you because of the pressures of adversity? There is a place where you can find rest and relief. It is in the presence of the Lord. He is waiting for you to come and unload on Him…..that’s right UNLOAD. Trade your heavy load for His light one.

 

This morning as I was praying the Lord spoke to My heart:

 

Come to Me, Child. Come to Me and rest. Come and lay your head on My chest and rest in Me. You can’t carry the burdens of the world on your shoulders, but I can. Release your cares to Me for I am a loving Father who longs to relieve His children of their burdens. Don’t try to carry them by yourself. Yield them to Me and I will sustain you. Cast your cares on the One who cares for you. Come unto Me and rest.

 

There are times when we become lost in life. It moves too fast for us and we feel like a hamster running on a round wheel; running, running, running, trying to keep up but getting nowhere fast. Have you ever felt that way?

 

There is a place of refuge and safety from the busyness of life. It is in the shelter of the Most High.

 

Psalm 91:1 AMP He WHO dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall remain stable and fixed under the shadow of the Almighty [Whose power no foe can withstand].

 

In the secret place of the Almighty you remain stable and fixed! No power can come against you when You are dwelling in the presence of the Lord. The winds of adversity become light, gentle breezes. He is a refuge and a fortress away from the storms of life. We each need those times of respite; of rest and refreshment. Are you spending time with the Lord, unloading your cares and problems on Him? If not, you will reach the place of burn-out. You can’t sustain carrying a load that is too heavy for you. It will eventually break you down.

 

When we go into our pre-service prayer times at church before our Sunday morning service, our Pastor will often tell us to unload whatever cares we’ve brought into that room on the Lord so He can fill us anew and afresh. We can’t minister to others if we are over-loaded with our own cares; so we take a few minutes to “unload” on the Lord.

 

Psalm 55:22 Cast your burden on the LORD, And He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

 

Cast – Hebrew word – salak – means “to throw, fling, cast, overthrow. The word is used of the “throwing” or “casting” of anything tangible.

 

When I go fishing with my husband we “cast” our lines out into the water to try to catch a fish. We use a “casting rod and reel”. The object is to throw it out there a long ways so you can reel it back in and have it be noticed by a fish as being a “bait fish” swimming through the water. When he was teaching me to fish he would constantly tell me to cast it out further. You can’t get much swim action if you don’t get it out there a long ways. So I have learned to throw or “cast” it out there with much strength so I can have a good, long cast. When I think of casting my cares on the Lord I often think of using the same power as when I cast my line out in the lake to catch a fish. Casting your cares on the Lord is not a halfhearted endeavor. God intends for us to get rid of our cares; to throw them off onto Him.

 

1 Peter 5:7 NIV Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.

 

Cast – Greek word epiripto – “to cast upon”, as “of casting garments on a colt,”.

 

Here we see again in the New Testament that God intends for us to “throw” our anxiety on Him because He cares for us. My friend, don’t carry around a load that will eventually break you down and cause you to bend over under the heaviness of it. Don’t just “release” them to Him; throw them; get rid of them as if you are trying to see how far you can throw them. Throw them onto the Lord. He loves you and cares about your ability to withstand the pressures of life. Then run into His presence and just relax; rest in Him and know that all is well when you are being cared for by your Father.

 

There is a place of quiet rest, of safe refuge. It is in the presence of the Lord; hidden under the shadow of the Almighty.

 

Psalm 91:2-5 AMP I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I [confidently] trust! For [then] He will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. [Then] He will cover you with His pinions, and under His wings shall you trust and find refuge; His truth and His faithfulness are a shield and a buckler. You shall not be afraid of the terror of the night, nor of the arrow (the evil plots and slanders of the wicked) that flies by day.

 

There is no foe that can touch you when you are safe in the Refuge of God. Lean and rely on Him, trust Him to handle those problems that you have no answer or solution for. You shall not be afraid for He cares for you.

 

Father, I thank You for the secret place that we have in You. I thank You that we are safe from all harm when we trust in You. You are our Refuge and High Fortress and it’s in You that we trust. Lead us to that safe haven of rest this morning, Father. Allow us to be relieved of the pressures of life. Help us to cast our anxiety and care on You and not take it back. It’s not a casting line that we throw out to You and then reel it back in. Help us, Father, to throw these problems on You once and for all! We can’t carry the load that was only designed for You. Father, I pray for my friends this morning, that they will find their rest in You. Thank You for loving us so much, Father! Thank You for relieving them of the stress of life. In Jesus’ Name I pray. Amen.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Lord, You Are Good « Learning to Be

Leave a Reply

