Exceedingly Abundantly!

 

Ephesians 3:20, 21 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

 

This portion of scripture is one of my very favorite ones! To God be the glory for the “exceedingly abundantly” things that He does in my life! I like that phrase “exceedingly abundantly”. What exactly does that mean?

 

Exceedingly – according to Webster’s 1828 dictionary – to a very great degree; in a degree beyond what is usual; greatly; very much.

 

Abundantly – Greek word – perissos – Strong’s #4053 – means superabundance, excessive, overflowing, surplus, over and above, more than enough, profuse, extraordinary, above the ordinary, more than sufficient.

 

To me the exceedingly abundantly says – in a degree beyond what is usual, God works in me in an excessive, overflowing, manner that is profuse and above the ordinary of what I could ever think or ask, according to, or in a manner consistent with, His power that works in me. To Him be the glory by Christ Jesus to those who follow in the the generations that continue forever and ever. Amen, So be it!

 

A couple of God’s “exceedingly abundantly” things in my life:

 

After standing in faith believing for four years that God would bring a godly mate into my life, He did just that! I prayed and followed the directions I felt I received from Him to cooperate with His plan for my life. It included selling my home of 18 years, resigning from a position with over 10 years tenure, moving to a large city 90 miles from my home, obtaining a new job and ultimately marrying the man that I believed He had brought to be my life-mate. All was well for 7 ½ weeks until my new husband sustained a massive stroke and went home to be with the Lord the following day. I was devastated! I found myself alone in a large city, on a new job and left to face a lonely future. I plunged into a darkness that forced me to totally depend on the Lord. I knew if I didn’t make myself get up, go to work, continue to pray and read my Bible and get out and go to church that I would be dead before long. Depression closed in on me; suicidal thoughts tried to force their way into my nights and the “good life” seemed to have slipped away with my husband’s death.

 

But GOD had a different plan! About 9 months after my husband’s death the Lord spoke through my Pastor one Sunday morning with a message that would give me hope of the “exceedingly abundantly” thing that He wanted to do in my life. He said “you may have lost a loved one this past year, but you can’t fully embrace what God has for you in the future if you don’t turn loose of the past”. All of a sudden a new hope entered my life. God began to speak to me about the possibility of another mate. He told me to go home, get back on eHarmony, and start over again. I didn’t want to do that; I didn’t want to face another disappointment. I had to push fear out of my mind. I obeyed but I told the Lord in prayer that I was not going to chase after a man; if He wanted me to talk to someone He would have to have him contact me. Well, that was the 20th of June, 2008. On the weekend of July 4th a match came up for me with a gentleman from Tennessee. I wasn’t really interested in a long distance relationship since I was living in Lenexa, Kansas, at the time, but I didn’t feel that God wanted me to close out the match so I just left it open and waited. On July 13th, four years ago, Gerald contacted me. As I got to know him, I realized that he was everything that I had seen in my studies of the Word about what a godly mate should look like. He was God’s answer to my prayer for a godly mate! After a short courtship, Gerald and I were married on October 11, 2008. God did exceedingly abundantly above all that I could ask or think in bringing new life to me through my marriage to Gerald! He has given back to me what the enemy stole!

 

The most recent “exceedingly abundantly” thing that He has done over and above all that I could ask or think happened just yesterday when I was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger award for my blogs on Word Press. I would have never thought that God would move in such a way as to inspire the heart of a sweet, Christian lady such as Jacqueline Waller of www.healingforthenation.com to honor me with such a nomination! How awesome is that? Many thanks to you, Jacqueline! It just goes to show you that God does choose those who don’t really match up through worldly standards to the honor bestowed upon them, for it is not anything that I have done on my own, but God, as He has moved through me, has written what I tell of in my blogs!. (1 Corinthians 1:26-31) To God be the glory! Promotion comes from the Lord as He moves in the lives of people.

 

Psalm 75:6,7 NLT For no one on earth—from east or west, or even from the wilderness—can raise another person up. It is God alone who judges; he decides who will rise and who will fall.

 

And there are more “exceedingly abundantly” things that God has done in my life, but these are the two that I felt impressed to share with you today. All that I really feel that God has asked of me is expressed in His word in Isaiah 43:10-13:

 

NLT “But you are my witnesses, O Israel!” says the LORD. “And you are my servant. You have been chosen to know me, believe in me, and understand that I alone am God. There is no other God; there never has been and never will be. I am the LORD, and there is no other Savior. First I predicted your deliverance; I declared what I would do, and then I did it—I saved you. No foreign god has ever done this before. You are witnesses that I am the only God,” says the LORD. Form eternity to eternity I am God. No one can oppose what I do. No one can reverse my actions.

 

I am simply His witness; His servant, chosen to know Him, believe in Him and understand that He alone is God! He is the only Savior and He has given me new life to replace the bondage of sin to which I was once a slave. There is no one who can oppose what He does and no one who can reverse His actions. He declared to me what He would through my life, by His Spirit not my own ability, when He called me into His ministry. His word to me was: Zechariah 4:6: …..’Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts. To God be the glory! I am so blessed to be His witness; His servant, proclaiming the way of the Lord to those that I come into contact with. I love Him and am privileged to be His child!

 

What about you? Can you look back through your life and see the “exceedingly abundantly” things that He has done for you? I’m sure they are there, for God is no respecter of persons. What He has done for one He will do for another.

 

Acts 10:34 Then Peter opened his mouth and said: “In truth I perceive that God shows no partiality.”

 

Partiality – Greek word prosopoleptes – means: A receiver of a face, one who takes sides, showing favoritism, exhibiting bias, showing discrimination, showing partiality, treating one person better than another.

 

God doesn’t show favoritism! He loves you just as much as the next person. What you see in His word that He has done in the lives of those that we refer to as Biblical characters He will do in your life as well. That’s how faith is born and grows. We see it in His word, believe it and receive it for ourselves. I simply listen to what God says to me, believe it and receive it. Then I wait for God to do it! When I was standing in faith believing for a godly mate He gave me several scriptures that were “rhema” words from the Holy Spirit to me that I constantly proclaimed as being so in my life. He showed me Bible stories of marriages that He brought together, such as Ruth and Boaz, so that faith could arise in my heart and I would be able to believe that He would do the same for me.

 

God loves you, child of God! He wants to do for you the “exceedingly abundantly” things that are far above what you could ask or think! He wants to display His power in and through you to bless you so that you can be a blessing to others around you! Will you believe? Will you receive?

 

Matthew 21:22 “And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

 

Father, I thank You for doing exceedingly abundantly above all I could ask or think in my life. Thank You for blessing me with Your great salvation! Thank You for calling me to be Your servant and to share You with the world around me. Thank You, Father, for those who follow my blogs, who listen to my teaching and receive me as simply a vessel that You have chosen to flow through. Father, I pray that I may be as much of a blessing to them as they are to me. Thank You for all those You have brought into my life. Thank You for allowing me to know them and share Your love with them. I pray that you may continue to move in me, changing me, and molding me into Your very own likeness, conforming me to the image of Your Son. Make me a blessing to the world today, Father! In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lbaruc
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 22:51:19

    I have been in that place where I found and finally understood what is to live a life trusting in the Lord. Life can seem so hard at times, but it is truly trusting in him and leaning on him in and through it all that makes life worth living. Thanks for sharing your awesome post, I have had times when God called me to do things that makes no sense to the natural mind, but it yielded rewards spiritually, but not until after the storm. People called me names, nut, and even left. I am so much better because of it because I know where my help comes from… my help comes from the Lord (Psalm 121:2)

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 15, 2012 @ 23:39:41

      There are ups and downs in life just like there are mountains and valleys. Sometimes it seems like we won’t make it through the tough times, but God said He would never leave us nor forsake us. He is always there with His arm outstretched to pick us up and carry us through the difficulties. It is as we experience His closeness and look into His loving eyes that we are changed! I thank God for always being there for me as I know you do as well. Yes, our help does truly come from the Lord! God Bless!

      Reply

  2. Linda C.
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 13:04:49

    I appreciate that I have a BB loving-merciful God, who holds me to trust Him, tells me to lay all my headaches and troubles to Him, then gives me hope by saying “”Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.“ Isa 43:18-19

    That is our perfect, awesome God, who cares for us so much, does not want us to be upset or hopeless, and does exceedingly abundantly above all that we asked or imaged. Thank you for this sharing, which lifts my ‘Hope’ up.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 13:46:30

      Amen, Linda! Thank you so much for your comment on my blog! He is doing a new thing in our lives, an exceedingly abundantly thing, more than we could ever ask or think because He’s the great and mighty God! We can place our hope and trust in Him! God Bless you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

