Left-Brained or Right-Brained?

I have for so long been interested in the different personalities we see in people and how they function in life. Being a primarily left-brained individual I have leaned more to hearing God’s voice through the Word than in getting His Spirit’s direction through the intuition of my spirit being filled with His voice flowing within me through the prophetic or dreams and visions. Understanding the functions of both the left-brain hemisphere and the right-brain hemisphere has helped me to identify how God is speaking to me; what His voice sounds like and how to know that it is Him and not my own thoughts or the deceptive thoughts of the enemy.

Left-brained people are studious, precept upon precept types of people, being often inclined to think logically and methodically. They are usually detailed oriented people. Right-brained people are led more by feelings and emotions. They are fun-loving, outgoing people who are often considered the “life” of the party. God’s voice rises up within us, from our hearts, and is then processed through either the left-brain hemisphere or the right-brain hemisphere. He wants us to be developed in hearing His voice, able to function at His direction, through whatever part of our being the message is delivered. He desires us to be fully His so He can flow through us to touch all of humanity for His kingdom’s work.

The functions of the left-brain hemisphere are: spoken language, right body control, number skills, written language, reading, and reasoning. The right-brain hemisphere functions are: left body control, music awareness, 3-dimensional forms, art awareness, intuition, and imagination.

In looking at these differences between the left-brain and right-brain functions, you have probably identified your strengths, thus forming an idea of which brain hemisphere you primarily function through. For me, the left-brain is the more comfortable area through which I function, but as I worship the Lord and listen to His voice I find that I am becoming more and more aware of how God speaks to me through the functions of the right-brain hemisphere. When I went to school the areas of academic learning were those of reading, writing and arithmetic. The right-brain hemisphere functions of music and drama were electives, thus the left-brain hemisphere was developed far more than the right-brain hemisphere. Although, since I was musically talented and singing was always a large part of my life, I had a mixture of left and right-brain activities. As I have developed my ability to still myself before the Lord, focus the eyes of my heart on Jesus, tune to the Holy Spirit within me and write what I felt God was saying to me, I have found that He speaks through so many more of the right-brain hemisphere functions than I had ever imagined. The prophetic is a function of the right-brain hemisphere, as well as dreams and visions. God wants all of us so that He can direct us through whatever brain hemisphere function He wants to use. He definitely speaks through the study of His word, but He also speaks through the prophetic, including dreams and visions.

2 Timothy 2:15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Acts 2:17-18 NLT ‘In the last days, God said, I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, and your old men will dream dreams. In those days I will pour out my Spirit upon all my servants, men and women alike, and they will prophesy.’

The more time I spend in the Lord’s presence, worshiping Him and fellow-shipping with Him, the more sensitive I become to His voice and the more aware I am of Him flowing through me with the living waters of His Spirit, bringing refreshing to me and to those to which I am ministering. We probably can identify more with hearing His voice through His word than we can with hearing it by the intuition of the Holy Spirit. Sometimes we are afraid of those things that we don’t understand and thus we shy away from learning something new about the Lord because we fear we will cross over into error. But God would have us to totally abandon ourselves to Him. He is not to be feared, but to be trusted. The Holy Spirit is the person of the God-head that is in operation in the hearts and lives of people here on earth today. He is the One who fellowships with us, speaks to our hearts bringing revelation knowledge of the Lord Jesus into our lives. Jesus said the Holy Spirit within us flows out of us like rivers of living water.

John 7:38 “He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.”

Shortly after I was baptized in the Holy Spirit I attended a conference and in responding to the altar call when the Evangelist prayed for me I was slain in the Spirit, or as some call it, overcome by the Spirit. During the time that I was lying on the floor being ministered to by the Holy Spirit I felt within my stomach a bubbling come up, like a spring of water. I know now that the bubbling was the Holy Spirit within me springing forth with His life giving waters that would form the river of life within me that would minister not only to my needs, but the needs of those around me. He is the giver of life, the member of the God-head that anoints us with His power to witness of the Lord Jesus and minister to those around us. God anointed Jesus of Nazareth, Jesus in His humanity, with the Holy Spirit and with power so that He could go around doing good and healing all who were oppressed of the devil. (Acts 10:38) He will do the same for you and me today!

Acts 10:38 “how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power, who went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him.”

Luke 11:11 NLT “You fathers—if your children ask for a fish, do you give them a snake instead? Or if they ask for an egg, do you give them a scorpion? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him.”

You may have not heard a lot of teaching about the Holy Spirit. What we are not taught cannot be understood and there will be no faith to believe for it and thus cannot be received. Faith comes by hearing the word of God so we must hear and believe in order to receive.

Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

It was years after I had been born again that I was taught about the power and anointing of the Holy Spirit in my life. I knew that the Holy Spirit ushered me into the Body of Christ and lived in my heart after I received Jesus as Savior and Lord, but I did not know about His power and anointing and the gifts that He brought into my life. I grew in my knowledge of Him as I hungered for all that God had for me and opened my heart to believe and receive. Every spiritual growth process starts with hunger and thirst.

Jesus told the woman at the well in John 4:10 that He had living water to give to people who wanted it.

John 4:10 Jesus answered and said to her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water.”

John 4:13, 14 Jesus answered and said to her, “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, “but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.”

Jesus is speaking of His salvation to the woman at the well. He uses the illustration of a fountain of living water being within the person who receives Him. That fountain is the formation of the river of the Holy Spirit that He was saying that people would receive in John 7:38.

Have you received the river of the Holy Spirit within you? Do you know and understand that there is a difference between the indwelling of the Holy Spirit and the baptism of the Holy Spirit; that they are two separate occurrences? I didn’t feel fully alive until after I had been baptized in the Holy Spirit. My growth in the Lord was increased tremendously after receiving the baptism of the Holy Spirit. I found that I could hear His voice more clearly, the word became alive to me and I was able to see victory in the battles that I fought against the enemy. I had a friend that sticks closer than a brother and was able to fellowship with Him through my heavenly prayer language. Christianity was opened to me through the subsequent event of the baptism of the Holy Spirit and I began to understand how God’s voice rises up within me and flows through the different functions of my left and right-brain hemispheres. His Spirit empowers me to understand how God created us to function as He moves within us bringing His word to life either through the left-brain hemisphere functions or the right-brain. He will do the same for you!

Father, I thank You for baptizing me in Your Spirit. I am thankful, Holy Spirit, that You live within me and flow out of me like rivers of living water. I need You in my life. Apart from You, Lord Jesus, and the power of Your Spirit within me, I can do nothing. There is no good that dwells in my flesh and my dependency is upon You alone. Father, I pray for my friends this morning who may be wondering about this event and maybe are not very knowledgeable of it. I pray that You will reveal the truth of it through Your word to them and by the indwelling Spirit that they may ask You for that living water and receive the fountain of the Holy Spirit welling up within them. I pray that they will desire all that You have for them and will seek You for the answers to the questions that they have. Thank You, Father, for hearing and answering my prayers. I believe, Father, that I receive when I pray. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaby1948
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 14:17:48

    WOW, Avie! This was such an enlightening blog for me…differences in John and I that I always were just a “fluke” to me. NOT so…it’s how our brains ARE different! Thank you as always, for a very enlightening blog! God Bless you…

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 17, 2012 @ 00:11:57

      Gaye, God not only created you with different personalities that are evidenced through the left-brain, right-brain hemispheres, but He also created you as man and woman and there are definite differences in the gender makeup so you have a couple of different things at work there. Men are more logical and women are more intuitive. It’s just the way God wired us! But he brings man and woman together to complement each other so He expects us to fill in the gaps in the other’s weaknesses and vice versa. Thanks for coming to my blog and commenting on it! God Bless!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Holy Baptism: The Door of the Spiritual Life « Poetry Writers Book Shop
  3. Nicole C
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 20:07:02

    Hi Avie. I came accross your article and I found it helpful. I am extremely left brained (computer programmer) and I find it hard to hear Gods Voice unless Im in the initial stages of sleep or waking up. I so want to hear Him for direction and guidance and hav been tryig off and on fo about 7 years. I have books by CWG ministries and at time I can hear God as I study His Word. I think part of my fear is like you aluded to, moving into error. I dont want to do anything that is not of God. This go around I have been more open to allowing vision to take place but there is still the fear of error. Also I dont have spiritual advisors who can walk with me on this journey, at leaast none who have the time. Any advice you can give as a fellow left brainer would help. Thanks again for the article.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 17, 2012 @ 22:21:07

      Hi Nicole! Thanks so much for your comment and questions.

      The first thing that I would like to point out to you is that in hearing the voice of God we must come to Him in faith believing that whatever we ask Him for we will receive. He knows your heart and knows exactly how to speak to you in ways that you will know are Him. But the only way a person can receive from God is by His grace through our faith.

      The next thing is that you must still yourself before Him and focus your eyes on Jesus. Whatever you are thinking about at the time will be the grid through which the voice that you hear is processed. The pure clear voice of the Lord is processed through a heart that is focused on Jesus. So set aside a time where you can have uninterrupted fellowship and prayer with the Lord. Everything that you think you hear from God must be judged by the Word. The Holy Spirit will not speak anything that doesn’t line up with the Word. So you can know if it’s God’s voice by what it says to you. Also, when God speaks it will be in line with His character and nature, so you can judge it by the tone of the voice as well. The Holy Spirit is our Helper, Comforter, Intercessor, Teacher and He speaks in alignment with the character and nature behind all of His names. The enemy speaks in alignment with his character and nature which is to accuse, lie, steal, kill and destroy. He is the father of lies so you can learn which voice you are hearing by the tone of the voice as well as what it is saying.

      I would recommend that you get at least one, if not two godly Christians to read your journal entries and let you know if they sense it is God speaking to you or not. It’s just a good safeguard to have in place. You can go to http://koinonianetwork.org/ and set up a profile page and get on some of the message boards there and find people that will help you by judging your journaling. They have leaders that will take the time to advise you and help you discern what you are hearing.

      God bless you, Nicole, for your desire to hear His voice. He will lead you so don’t give up! It sounds like you are on the right course.

      Please feel free to contact me again if you need additional help.

      Blessings!
      Avanell

      Reply

Leave a Reply

