You Are Not A Number To God!

Psalm 33:13-15 The LORD looks from heaven; He sees all the sons of men. From the place of His dwelling He looks On all the inhabitants of the earth; He fashions their hearts individually; He considers all their works.

 

In my younger years I had a very low self-esteem. I had gone through a lot of abuse and life’s disappointments piled heavily upon me. When the Lord began to bring me out of this He had me go through the word and highlight scripture verses that spoke to me of His love for me. Then when I would feel down all I needed to do was go back and read the highlighted verses to reinforce in my heart the great love that He had for me. I read them out loud so my eyes could see and my ears could hear and the reinforcement would be multiplied to my heart. This verse is one that really spoke to my heart.

 

Please notice that the word says “He fashions their hearts individually”. He could have just said “He fashions their hearts”, but He added the word “individually”. I believe He added that word to show us that we are not a number to Him; we are not formed out of a cookie cutter mold, but He formed each one of us as a unique individual. We are important enough to Him that He formed us, fashioned our hearts and watches over what we do. God is interested in each one of us.

 

Psalm 139:1-6 O LORD, You have searched me, and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, But behold, O LORD, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me, Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain it.

 

Child of God, He knows everything about you and not only does He know you but He made you just the way He wanted you to be.

 

Psalm 139:13 For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.

 

The Hebrew word for “covered” there means “wove”. God wove you together when you were in your mother’s womb. Some translations say He “knit” you together. When you knit or weave an item with yarn or thread each individual strand is carefully tied together; interwoven with the next one. That’s the way you are as an individual. You have been complexly woven together just as God wanted.

 

Psalm 139:15-16 My frame was not hidden from you, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth, Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them.

 

God pictured in His mind what You would look like as He formed you. His patterned you after the picture He had in His mind of you. His eyes saw you before You were formed and He wrote in His book all the days that You would experience. He knew exactly what You would be going through each day and what difficulties you would encounter; the joys that you would experience as well as the hurts.

He understands your feelings because He made you as a person who would laugh and cry; be able to identify with other’s needs and hurts and feel happiness as well as sorrow. The NLT says in verse 16:

 

You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in Your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

 

 

God is intimately involved in your life. He understands why you feel the way you do. There is no need to be disappointed with who you are or how you act as He made you and is changing you by the day. He is involved with every aspect of your life.

 

Psalm 139:7-10 NLT I can never escape from Your spirit! I can never get away from Your presence! If I go up to heaven, You are there; if I go down to the place of the dead, You are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there Your hand will guide me, and Your strength will support me.

 

There is no place where you can go to get away from God. He knows every step that you take and your destination even before you go. This was very comforting to me as I prepared to leave my home in Missouri to move to Tennessee with my husband. Even though I didn’t know anyone here in Tennessee but my husband I was assured that God knew where I was going and would be here with me. He never runs away from us or leaves us to our own defenses when we are in uncharted territory. He is right there with us supporting us each step of the way! Even great oceans cannot separate us from Him.

 

Psalm 139:17, 18 NLT How precious are Your thoughts about me, O God! They are innumerable! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up in the morning, you are still with me!

 

Have you ever walked along the beach and thought about how many grains of sand there are? It seems like as far as you could dig there is sand. It is everywhere! That’s how many thoughts God has of you. You are always on His mind! He loves you! He is still there when you wake up in the morning. He doesn’t walk out on you while you are still asleep!

 

Psalm 139:14 NLT Thank You for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—and how well I know it.

 

God doesn’t make junk! He makes the best quality and puts His best efforts into His creation! We need to thank Him for His work in creating us instead of hating ourselves because we don’t think we look the way we should or act as we should. When we see the flaws in a piece of quality furniture we say it has character; it isn’t just like the next piece and yet when we see things in ourselves that indicate our humanity, we often belittle ourselves instead of thanking God for making us who we are!

 

Psalm 138:8 The LORD will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy, O LORD, endures forever; Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

 

God didn’t quit when He created you! He continues to work in your life every day. He will perfect or complete whatever concerns you. He doesn’t forsake the work of His hands!

 

Philippians 1:6 being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.

 

Child of God, He has begun a good work in you and He will continue to work in your life until Jesus returns. He will complete the work He has begun in you. Look up to Him when you feel discouraged. Tell Him about your problems and allow Him to wrap His loving arms around you. Don’t be discouraged over the disappointments that you see in yourself. We are “human” beings; not “perfect” beings! We are individuals formed by the Master’s hands; created in His likeness and image to do what He has created us to do and be.

 

Genesis 1:26 Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”

 

God created you in His image and likeness and gave you dominion over all His creation. The only one that He didn’t give you dominion over was another person. All other created beings and the earth was given to man to subdue and have dominion over. He intended for His man to be above and not beneath; the head and not the tail; to be prosperous enough to give a supply for the needs of those around him. God created you as a winner; not a loser. When will you begin to live up to what you were created to be?

 

Genesis 1:28 Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

 

God blessed man after He created him! And He is still passing out His blessings on your life as each day passes! Enjoy the life God has given you! Don’t feel that you have been cheated because you don’t have something that someone else has. Give every day to God and thank Him for what He has done in you and for you! Enjoy where you are on the way to where you are going. Don’t wait to be happy when this or that happens, or you get to something certain stage in life. Enjoy every day and live as if it is your last one!

 

Father, I thank You for creating us in Your image and likeness! Thank You for making us just the way you wanted each of us to be as individuals! And thank You for continuing to bless us and work in our lives. May we each live up to the potential that You have placed within us, being the over comers that You intend for us to be and taking our rightful place in You over the forces of darkness that try to hinder us from living our lives to the fullest. May You be glorified in Your creation today, Father. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaby1948
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 13:33:06

    It does so help me to think He made “us just the way He wanted us”. Sometimes I can’t see how anyone would want me this way! I do so love your blogs and they always are uplifting! God Bless you, Avanell!

    Reply

  2. lbaruc
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 01:16:57

    This really blessed me. There are times when I have to fight to pull myself out of a pit. I use the Word of God to dig myself out of it, I love your posts… this one especially. Thank you so much and may God continue to bless you.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Karan K. Gleddie

Leave a Reply

