Walk and Talk With the Lord!

As I was walking and praying recently, the Lord gave me a simple, little song to be sung back to Him as my prayer. Here are the lyrics:

 

Speak to my heart, Oh God!

Speak to my heart, Oh God;

Speak to my heart and reveal what You will,

Speak to my heart, Oh God.

 

Show me Your ways, Oh God!

Show me Your ways, Oh God;

Show me Your ways that I may walk by Your side,

Show me Your ways, Oh God.

 

Psalm 25:4,5 Show me Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day.

 

The Psalmist had a desire to know God through understanding His ways and being taught to walk in His truth and along paths that God had chosen for him. In order for us to know Him, we must have a desire to also apply what see in Him to our lives so we can walk together in agreement.

 

Amos 3:3 Can two walk together, unless they are agreed?

 

We can’t effectively walk with the Lord until we are walking in agreement with Him. He does not compromise and will not adapt to our ways; we must conform to His!

 

Likewise, Moses had a relationship with the Lord where he walked and talked with God. The children of Israel were afraid to get too close to the Lord. They had seen His acts; what He did to the Egyptians to get them released from bondage and they were afraid of Him. They wanted His protection and provision but not His presence. They wanted Moses to go before the Lord on their behalf and then come back and report to them what God had said.

 

It is said in Psalm 103:7: He made known His ways to Moses, His acts to the children of Israel.

 

Do you want to know God and be able to walk in His ways or are you afraid of the closeness of relationship with Him and just desire to see His acts? He will let you get as close to Him as you desire, but He will not force Himself on you.

 

Father, I desire to know You, the One true God and Your ways that I may walk closely with You. I long to hear Your voice and understand Your ways that my life might reflect You in all I say and do. Help my friends to draw near to You that they may know You as well. Dispel their fears and reveal Your love to them so they will have a desire to really know You and understand how You think and feel so they may walk closely in agreement with You. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaby1948
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 12:49:26

    Thank you, Avanell, I do desire to know Him more, but I realize from your statement that I also have leftover baggage, from my early life, that I don’t like to be “noticed” by anyone and that seems to hold me back whenever I try to really get close to ANYONE. I am learning so much from your Blogs! Thank you and God Bless you!

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 22, 2012 @ 13:31:43

      We all have baggage from things that happen to us in our lives, Gaye. The devil would like for us to think that no one would understand or that people would condemn us for the things that have happened to us because if he can keep us alienated from those around us he can keep us in bondage to the “baggage”. But God wants to bring us out of bondage so that He can bring us into the good plans that He has for our lives. In counseling I use a book called “Prayers That Heal The Heart”, by Mark and Patti Virkler. It deals specifically with things that hold us in bondage and how God brings deliverance into our lives through prayer and the leading of the Holy Spirit to deal with the issues of our past. It might be something that you would be interested in reading. If I can help further, please feel free to contact me.

      God Bless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

