Our Comforter!

II Corinthians 1:3, 4 AMP Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of sympathy (pity and mercy) and the God [Who is the Source] of every comfort (consolation and encouragement), Who comforts (consoles and encourages) us in every trouble (calamity and affliction), so that we may also be able to comfort (console and encourage) those who are in any kind of trouble or distress, with the comfort (consolation and encouragement) with which we ourselves are comforted (consoled and encouraged) by God.

God cares so much about His people that when they encounter heartaches He comforts them while they are going through it so that they, in turn, can comfort others when they are going through difficulties. I’ve experienced His comfort first hand many times but especially when my husband passed away. I kept telling God that I just couldn’t understand why it happened. I had followed every direction He had given me along the way as I prayed about His will for me to marry Larry and then 7 ½ weeks later to have him pass away from a massive stroke just devastated me.  This clearly was an attack from the enemy! But one morning as I was praying about it the Lord prompted me to read Isaiah 63:7-9.

Isaiah 63:7-9 NIV I will tell of the kindnesses of the LORD, the deeds for which He is to be praised, according to all the LORD has done for us—yes, the many good things He has done for the house of Israel, according to His compassion and many kindnesses. He said, “Surely they are my people, sons who will not be false to me”; and so He became their Savior. In all their distress He too was distressed, and the angel of His presence saved them. In His love and mercy He redeemed them; He lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.

Immediately upon reading that passage of scripture the Lord drew me to verse 9 which says, “In all their distress He too was distressed”….

He simply said to me, “When My children hurt I hurt with them”. That so touched my heart knowing that when I cry the Lord cries with me; when I am distressed He is distressed as well. Not only does He cry with us and hurt when we hurt, but He does something about that pain. He redeems us from it. He buys us back from the heartache that we experience. The blood of Jesus purchased our emotional peace, as well as our spiritual peace. He paid the price for us to be whole; spirit, soul and body. The last part of that verse says that He lifts us up and carries us through those days.

He is the God of all comfort! Jesus said His Spirit, the Holy Spirit is our Comforter in John 14:16:

AMP And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, and Standby), that He may remain with you forever–

He is our Comforter to come alongside and carry us through the difficult times. He is our Counselor, to give us wise counsel when we need to know which way to go in a confusing situation. He is our Helper when we feel that we can’t get something done on our own; our Intercessor always living to intercede on our behalf; our Advocate to plead our case when we need legal assistance. He is our Strengthener when we are weak and our Standby coming to our aid when we feel we can’t go on. The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of truth that leads us into all truth and teaches us the ways of the Lord. He directs our paths and tells us of future happenings. Jesus described Him in this manner:

John 16:12-15 I have still many things to say to you, but you are not able to bear them or to take them upon you or to grasp them now. But when He, the Spirit of Truth (the Truth-giving Spirit) comes, He will guide you into all the Truth (the whole, full Truth). For He will not speak His own message [on His own authority]; but He will tell whatever He hears [from the Father; He will give the message that has been given to Him], and He will announce and declare to you the things that are to come [that will happen in the future]. He will honor and glorify Me, because He will take of (receive, draw upon) what is Mine and will reveal (declare, disclose, transmit) it to you. Everything that the Father has is Mine. That is what I meant when I said the He [the Spirit] will take the things that are Mine and will reveal (declare, disclose, transmit) it to you.

The Holy Spirit is my friend! Jesus told His disciples that He no longer called them servants but He called them His friends. The Spirit of Jesus, who lives within the believer, is our friend, just as Jesus is our friend.

John 15:15 AMP I do not call you servants (slaves) any longer, for the servant does not know what his mater is doing (working out). But I have called you My friends, because I have made known to you everything that I have heard from My Father. [I have revealed to you everything that I have learned from Him.]

When Jesus ascended back to the Father after He was crucified and resurrected from the dead, He sent the Holy Spirit to live within each one of us who receives Jesus as Savior and Lord. He is our friend; our confidant; the One who comes alongside us and reveals Jesus to us. He glorifies Jesus in our lives and reveals to us what we need to do and how we are to live as believers in a world filled with darkness and despair. Without the Holy Spirit we would be be lost because there would be no one to convict the lost person of their need for salvation. He convicts the world of sin, of righteousness and of judgment. (John 16:8)  No one can come to salvation without the Holy Spirit drawing them to Jesus. His job is so vast, it is incomprehensible and can’t be understood without Him granting us spiritual discernment. There are many things that the Holy Spirit does that we don’t even recognize that He is working among us.

Galatians 5:22, 23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

When the Holy Spirit comes to live within us He brings His fruit along with Him. It is through the development of the fruit of the Spirit within us that we become more Christ-like. If we did not have the Holy Spirit within us we would not have the potential to live as Jesus lived, but through His indwelling Spirit we are able to live like Him, walk like Him, and do the work of the ministry like Him.

God anointed Jesus with the Holy Spirit and power and that’s how He carried out His ministry.

Acts 10:38 “how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power, who went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him.

God was with Jesus in His humanity, through the power and anointing of the Holy Spirit, enabling Him to do the things that He did and working through Him to heal those who were oppressed of the devil. That same Holy Spirit anointing is available to us to do those same things that Jesus did. In fact, Jesus said when we went back to the Father that those of us who were left here as believers in Him would do the same works that He did, and even greater works.

John 14:12-14 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. “And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. “If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.”

Jesus went back to the Father and sent the Holy Spirit to take His place and now He lives within believers equipping them to do the same works that Jesus did. The Holy Spirit, the third person of the God-head is so important to me! I can’t make it through life without Him!

Do you need comfort today? Receive the comfort of the Holy Spirit. He will hold you and care for you as you go through difficult times! What help do you need? The Holy Spirit is here to be your Helper. Draw on His strength today for your weaknesses. Do you need the Teacher to help you understand the Word of God? Call upon the Holy Spirit and He will illuminate the eyes of your understanding. What about ministry? Do you feel inadequate in doing the work that God has called you to do? You can’t without the anointing of the Holy Spirit. You can not do the supernatural without the equipping of the Holy Spirit. But He is here waiting to fill you to overflowing with His power, His ability, His comfort; whatever you need. Just ask Him and He will come.

Father, I thank You for Your Spirit who lives within me. I can’t make it through life without You, Holy Spirit. I thank You for being my friend. I pray this morning for my friends who may not be aware of Your presence within them. I pray that You, Holy Spirit, will make Yourself known to them. Be their best friend also. Help them to do the things that they see as impossibilities. Show them Your power to live above the circumstances of life. Father, reveal Your Spirit to them in ways that they will understand. Give them Your anointing that saves, heals, delivers and sets people free just as You did for Jesus. Touch them by Your Spirit; draw the lost to You, Lord and save them. Father, thank You for the Holy Spirit and His supernatural ability within us. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaby1948
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 06:55:23

    OH, YES, AVANELL! I SO agree with you. Now that I have Him, I don’t know how I ever lived without Him years ago or how anyone else manages even 5 minutes without Him inside to guide them and correct them in all areas of life. They are missing out on the BIGGEST part of life!

    Thanks you for this Word today from the Lord. Oh, that more would receive it! And thank you for your prayer and ALL your prayers! I appreciate them so much!

    God Bless you, AVANELL

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:46:39

      May the Holy Spirit continue to lead you and guide you into all truth, Gaye! May He rest His anointing on you and give you the avenues needed to share His word with others. May He rest heavily upon you and give you peace!

      God Bless!
      Avanell

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Back To School | This Day With God
  3. Trackback: Remain In Me! « "Working for Christ"

Leave a Reply

