The Monster Within

Romans 6:16-19 Do you not know that to whom you present yourselves slaves to obey, you are that one’s slaves whom you obey, whether of sin leading to death, or of obedience leading to righteousness? But God be thanked that though you were slaves of sin, yet you obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine to which you were delivered. And having been set free from sin, you became slaves of righteousness. I speak in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves of uncleanness, and of lawlessness leading to more lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves of righteousness for holiness.

We all have battles that we fight that often seem to be won and then we find them raising their ugly heads up once again. Paul fought for victory over sin and told about it in Romans chapter 7. After Jesus had won His battle with the devil in the wilderness the Word tells us in Luke 4:13 that the devil “departed from Him until an opportune time”. Our enemy knows our weaknesses and watches us to see when the “opportune” times are that he can come back and tempt us again. He thinks maybe this time he will win. I was praying one time about overcoming the temptation to eat simple carbohydrates that seem to set off a ravenous monster within me that only desires more, more MORE. This is what the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart.

Child, whatever you yield yourself to will control you. If you yield yourself to Me I will have control over you; but when you present your members to those things that are bad for you then they take control of you and lead you in the way that they want you to go; the way of death. I lead you in the way of life. It’s your choice; you choose this day whom you will serve. That which leads you to life or that which leads you to death. The controlling right comes as you make the choice.”

The thing that made the most impact on me in my response from the Lord is “the controlling right comes as you make the choice”. We are all presented with temptations, but we are not controlled by the temptations; we are controlled when we yield to the temptation and allow it to take over and lead us in the direction it wants us to go. When we make the right choices then we are lead in the right direction. The choice is the turning point in every temptation.

Paul experienced a problem with re-occurring sin in his life and wanting to do what he knew was right but having to fight the desires of his flesh.  The principle for victory that he describes over sin is found in Jesus Christ. It is the same for each one of us as we battle the temptations that arise in our lives. The flesh always wants self-gratification, but the Spirit will lead us to make wise choices that please the Father.

Romans 7:24, 25 NLT Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord…

He later said in Philippians 4:13 NLT For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.

Paul again described the way to live free from the lusts of the flesh in Galatians 4:16:

I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish.

So what does Paul mean by “walk in the Spirit”? He means to walk yielded to the Holy Spirit’s direction in your life; always being aware that what you yield your flesh to will produce either good or bad in your life. He went on to explain that the works that the flesh produce are totally opposite to the good that the Holy Spirit brings into our lives.

So, as I continued to pray about the temptation placed before me this is what I heard the Lord say:

If you do not choose the food then it has no power over you, but when you open the door through your choice it will come in to accommodate your desire. Depend on Me for the strength to overcome and I will help you close the door on the addictive power of food. See yourself as the winner that I have created you to be. Make healthy choices and drive food addictions out of your life. I will help you for I know what foods your body needs to be healthy. Do not depend solely on your own understanding for I know the hidden additives in the food that trigger your own food sensitivities.”

God cares about the things that we care about. He is here through His Spirit to help us make right choices that will produce the desired results in our lives. But many times we try to win the battles on our own terms, through our own abilities. That’s not God’s way. He wants us to fight in the strength that He provides because that’s the only way to defeat the enemy for good.

Ephesians 6:10, 11 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.

It is through God’s power that we win the battles. He knows exactly what type of weapons we need to fight effectively. But if we never consult Him for the strategy that will bring the victory we will continue to fight ineffectively and struggle with the attacks that the enemy brings against us.

Father, I thank You for showing me that the victory lies in staying in close contact with You regarding the food choices that I make. Thank You for giving me the victory through Your Spirit within me. I know that I can do all things through Your strength. Father, I pray for my friends this morning who may be struggling with temptations in their lives. I ask You to fill them with the wisdom and knowledge that they need to know how to win the battle before them. Father, by Your Spirit, give them the victory and show them how to fight effectively to win. Thank You, Father. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 15:20:12

    Oh dear sweet Avie,

    How I agree with your blog.

    The way that you have written this gave me a revelation that food addiction can be compared to drug addiction or smoking or drinking or gambling even sexual addiction.

    Very interesting and enlightening.

    I have been enabled to over come all that I have mentioned only through Jesus and His grace and each one took time and His grace and truth and special revelation for each of these addictions.

    I have also retrained my taste buds to crave good fresh healthy food.

    My body also craves good exercise that makes me feel so much better.

    Just like craving the Word of God which is the truth of Jesus and His grace which leads us to life and life ever lasting and much more abundant living on this earth.

    Days of heaven upon this earth shall be ours.

    We cannot fight and over come anything without doing it through the grace of Jesus who strengthens us and enlightens us with His revelations both personal and written in His Word of how to live life by faith and love and living in His Spirit of Love and truth and grace.

    Great is our peace because we rely on, have trust in, put all of our confidence in Jesus who is to be our focus because the battle is the Lord’s and not ours.because we walk by faith since that is the only way to please Him.

    He enables us to over come anything and everything by His gift of faith, the measure of faith given to each of us.

    It is then up to us how we will use this measure and gift of faith.

    We are the righteousness of God Himself and we live more holy set aside sanctified lives simply because we have the free gift of righteousness of Father God and we are sealed with His precious Holy Spirit who enables us to do anything that we have to do to live an over coming life while on this earth in the name of Jesus.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 17:49:33

      You are so right, Bobbie, in knowing that God does His part, but we have a part to do also. You have depended on His grace to set you free from the addictions, but you’ve also retrained your body to cooperate with His deliverance. That’s where we often fall short. We feel it is God’s responsibility to set us free, as He has promised, but we are waiting for the supernatural deliverance that at times He does choose to work in us, but we fail to understand that we grow stronger to be able to resist the next temptation by exercising our authority over the current temptation. We do have a responsibility to make the right choices and stand against the temptations!

      Thank you, Bobbie, for your insightful comments!

      God Bless!
      Avanell

      Reply

  2. gaby1948
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 17:41:01

    AVANELL, I actually think the enemy wanted me to miss today’s lesson…I am so thankful that I made it…headache and all! This is spoken directly to me and I am going to copy and save this one to read over and over. I have been following some teachings about sugar and hidden sugar that is helping me learn that if I eat sugar, I want more, more, MORE…just as you say! Can’t thank you enough for this today! God Bless you!
    Gaye

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 17:51:15

      So glad you stopped by, Gaye! That’s one battle the devil didn’t win! I’m praying that you will be pain free soon! I read a book years ago about sugar addiction and have found it to be true! It truly does feed the carb monster within!

      God Bless!
      Avanell

      Reply

Leave a Reply

