Priming The Pump

I recently prayed with a young lady to receive the Baptism of the Holy Spirit. As we prayed together I told her her that I was going to pray in the Spirit next to her and for her to relax and just speak out those words that the Holy Spirit would give her as we prayed together. I told her what I was doing was similar to “priming the pump”. Of course, as a teenager she had no idea of what I was talking about as her generation has never really heard of or seen a hand pump such as this one. It was a foreign concept to her. But the purpose was in getting her mind off of herself and what her mind wanted her to say in the natural so she could hear from the Spirit to speak out of that supernatural heavenly language that He was giving her. She needed to make the shift from her own natural language to the language of the Spirit.

Often times, as believers in Christ Jesus and in our desire to be all that He created us to be, we become “introspective” and through our focus on “what’s wrong with me” we forget to listen to the Holy Spirit and follow His direction for life instead of our own thoughts and actions. Our focus becomes clouded by our desire to be “perfect”, to not make any mistakes in our walk with the Lord, and to become “sinless”. But the problem with that is that in focusing on self, we take our eyes off of Jesus, who is the author and finisher of our faith. We then become self-conscious, instead of God-conscious. It is not up to us to change ourselves, but God does the work within us as we cooperate with Him. The work that He completed on the cross was a complete work and through Him we receive the freedom of our sins being forgiven! It is not a work that we have to do, but a work that was done on our behalf by the Savior of the world. We are now free to live according to His Spirit and not our flesh.

Galatians 5:16-18 MSG My counsel is this: Live freely, animated and motivated by God’s Spirit. Then you won’t feed the compulsions of selfishness. For there is a root of sinful self-interest in us that is at odds with a free spirit, just as the free spirit is incompatible with selfishness. These two ways of life are antithetical, so that you cannot live at times one way and at times another way according to how you feel on any given day. Why don’t you choose to be led by the Spirit and so escape the erratic compulsions of a law-dominated existence?

 

My question today is: Are you experiencing the freedom of being led by the Spirit or are you following the erratic compulsions of a rule based religion?

Matthew 5:6 MSG “You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.”

 

“Child, whatever a person hungers for is what they will seek to satisfy. When you hunger and thirst for Me you will be satisfied by My Spirit; your spirit man will be nourished and satisfied. Your flesh seeks it’s own and your spirit seeks My own.”

Father, I come before You today just to say that I love You and my desire is to follow the leading of Your Spirit in what I say and do. I desire to feed my spirit through Your Spirit’s leading. I am hungry for You, Lord! I pray that my heart is pure before You and that what You say to me will be what I heed and do rather than living my life according to a set of rules and regulations or by the erratic behavior of my feelings. Father, I pray that my friends will also seek Your direction and walk according to the freedom of Your Spirit to live and do as You would desire rather than their own motivations. May we be pleasing in Your sight, Oh God! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 07:59:40

    Oh Avie, what a beautiful blog of light and lightness and joy and happieness and love and grace and truth.

    His Word and His Spirit prime my pump of living water with each new day to keep me in His wealth of love and grace and truth.

    Jesus is love, grace and truth and I can’t separate love, grace and truth from Jesus. This is the Jesus that I know. Love, grace and truth is my Jesus and keeps me primed like a well watered pump of His love, grace and truth. See what I mean? LOL

    His all consuming love of me is what keeps on transforming me and keeps me focused on Him because without His love I am a complete failure with living this life.

    His loving us is what makes life livable and doable and lovable.

    Thank you Avie for such great beauty.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 09:34:09

      May your life continue to be blessed by God’s love, grace and truth! May you live every day in His love!

      God Bless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

