Delight Yourself In The Lord

 

Psalm 37:3, 4 Trust in the LORD, and do good; Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the LORD, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

God is so faithful! He always keeps His word. No matter how dark my life has been at times, I have always seen the faithfulness of God in watching Him turn the bad into good. I can truly say that when I have delighted myself in Him, He has given me the desires of my heart.

Today my husband and I will celebrate our fourth anniversary. Many of you know my testimony of how God turned my life around after having lost my previous husband to a massive stroke after only 7 ½ weeks of marriage. It was a devastating time in my life as I had stood in faith believing God for a godly mate and then when I lost him I felt that my life was over and I would have to be resigned to living life as a single lady for the rest of my life. But when God places a desire within your heart it is His way of saying to you to believe Him for what He promises and wait for Him to fulfill that promise. It was the promise of having a godly mate and a marriage that would glorify God that I was asked to exercise my faith to receive. God wanted me to believe that He would give me the desires of my heart. So the journey began.

There were two primary scriptures that God brought to me as a Rhema word that He would do what He had promised. The Bible gives two different definitions for the Word of God: Logos, which is the whole word as a message from God to His people and Rhema, which is the spoken word of God as the Holy Spirit uses it to speak a verse that particularly applies to your situation at that very moment. So we have the Logos, the Bible in its entirety and the Rhema, a verse that the Holy Spirit speaks to your heart to apply to what you are experiencing at that moment. God gave me two Rhema scriptures to encourage me to stand in faith believing for a godly mate.

Isaiah 34:16 NKJV “Search from the book of the LORD, and read: Not one of these shall fail; Not one shall lack her mate. For My mouth has commanded it, and His Spirit has gathered them.

Ruth 1:9 NKJV “The LORD grant that you may find rest, each in the house of her husband.” So she kissed them, and they lifted up their voices and wept.

These two scriptures gave me hope that God would do what He had promised. It was as I continually meditated on and prayed these scriptures that I was able to believe that God would give me the desires of my heart, which was to have a godly mate that would love me and share my life with me. And it was through standing on His word and believing that He was faithful to fulfill His promises that I met my husband, Gerald.

Jeremiah 1:12 AMP Then said the Lord to me, You have seen well, for I am alert and active, watching over My word to perform it.

God holds His word in such high regard that when He speaks forth a promise to us He watches over that word to make sure that it does what He has sent it out to do.

Isaiah 55:11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; it shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Friends, when God speaks a promise to you from His word, if you will be faithful to believe it, you can know that He will be faithful to fulfill it!

2 Corinthians 1:20 For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us.

God’s promises to you are “Yes” and “Amen”, or “so be it” and when He brings them to fulfillment in your life it brings glory to Himself through you. He is bound to His word to fulfill what He has promised. God doesn’t speak anything haphazardly or half-halfheartedly. He speaks what He means and He means what He says! When He gives you a promise from His word you can trust Him to fulfill it if you will stand in faith believing Him for it.

What is it that God has promised you today that you have not seen Him fulfill? Are you standing in faith believing or are you wavering from hope to doubt? You have an enemy that doesn’t want to see God’s promises fulfilled in your life and will constantly plant doubts in your heart to sway you off of the the promise. You must push the doubts aside and continue to believe! God will do what He has promised!

Romans 15:13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

God wants you to win! He is the God of hope and He will fill you with hope so that you can believe for His promises. He does that through the power of His Holy Spirit within you. There were times when I thought the promise of a godly mate was simply wishful thinking in my heart, but God proved to me that when I continued to believe Him that He, through His Spirit within me, would fill me with Biblical hope so I could continue to stand in faith. Biblical hope is different from the worldly kind of hope. The worldly kind of hope is simply wishful thinking. But Biblical hope is based on a confident expectation of God doing what He has said He would do. The definition of the Greek word for “hope” is this:

Hope – Greek word elpis – Strong’s #1680 Hope, not in the sense of an optimistic outlook or wishful thinking without any foundation, but in the sense of confident expectation based on solid certainty. Biblical hope rests on God’s promises. Hope is never inferior to faith, but is an extension of faith. Faith is the present possession of grace; hope is confidence in grace’s future accomplishment.

Everything that we receive from God comes from His grace, but is manifested in our lives through our faith. Biblical hope rests on the confident expectation that God will provide from His grace that which He has promised when we exercise our faith to receive it. Jesus instructed His disciples to stand in faith in this manner in Mark 11:22-24:

So Jesus answered and said to them, “Have faith in God. “For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says. “Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.”

Receiving God’s promises begins with having faith in Him. Or another translation of the word “in” would be “of”, meaning have the faith of God. Base your faith in Him and act out your faith in the way He did. When God looked out over the universe in Genesis chapter 1, He didn’t say, “oh my, look how dark it is”. No, He said, “Let there be light”, and there was light! He spoke what He was believing for. When we activate our faith to believe for God’s promises we speak the promise and not the problem. When we speak the promise we are releasing our faith to believe that what He has said He will do. When I was believing God to provide a godly mate for my life I spoke what He had promised, that I would not lack my mate and that by His Spirit He would gather us together. I prayed positively for the manifestation of my new husband and that I would have rest or security in the marriage that He would provide. My prayers were focused on His promises not the lack that I was currently experiencing. Jesus said the time to believe is not when you see it, but when you pray it!

Mark 9:23 Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”

 

My friend, God is watching over His word to perform it in your life. What has He promised that you have not yet seen happen? Will you believe Him before you see it in manifestation? The key to receiving is in your believing!

Father, I thank You for Your faithfulness to Your word. When You give us a promise, Father, You watch over Your word to perform it in our lives. Thank You, Father, for being true to Your word and for encouraging us to continue to stand in faith believing until we see it happen. Thank You, Lord, for my husband. He is truly a gift from You, Father, and I thank You for him! Father, I pray for my friends this morning who may be struggling with believing to receive what you have promised. I pray that You will give them additional scriptures that will encourage them and give them hope. Father, I ask You, by Your Spirit to fill them with joy and peace as they stand in faith to believe that You will do what You have promised. I pray that You will place people around them to encourage them and help them in their faith walk. Father, I know that You are no respecter of persons and what You have done for one You will do for another. I thank You for fulfilling Your promises in my life and I ask You now to do the work in them as well. Thank You, Father, for hearing and answering my prayer for I believe that I receive when I pray! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 09:29:02

    Nothing shall be held back and anything and everything is possible to those who believe in His Word which He esteems above all since His Jesus is His Word and His Word is His Jesus and His Jesus is also our Jesus.

    Father God can only go as far as your faith goes and faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God. We please our Lord by our faith in Him which is the Word.

    Jesus says we can and will have whats so ever that we are confessing and professing over our lives by the words of our mouth.

    Words are spiritual containers and what better way to fill a spiritual container then with the Word of God?

    Living and walking by faith is the most exciting and adventurous way to live life while on this earth.

    Once we get to heaven we will not need to live and walk by faith, now is the time for the walk and life of faith in Him and His Word and having the faith of Father God and HIs Word His Jesus and ouir Jesus.

    His Word has performed miracles in my life that in this natural world are just not possibe but with our Lord it is all possible because of Him and His Word and His gift of faith, the measure of faith to each and everyone of us

    We all start out with the same measure of faith and then it is up to us to build that measure of faith to unstoppable faith and immeasureable faith and living and breathing faith.

    Thank you Father God in the name of Jesus for enabling us to live and walk by faith because of grace which is Jesus and His cross.

    His Word is the truth no matter what we see with our carnal physical eyes His Word reigns over all and is the truth over all because these physical things are always subject to change by what we believe in oiur heart and the confession and profession of the words of our mouth in the name of Jesus.

    Reply

  2. carolynrice
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 16:20:09

    Thank you Avanell for being a beacon of light. God Bless you and your writing!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Will God Grant me the Desires of my Heart? (He Said/She Said) | Emerald's Notebook
    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 13, 2012 @ 05:29:48

      Thank you for linking my blog to yours. May God continue to bless your writing as you share His love with others.

      Reply

  4. Maurie
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 07:29:13

    God bless you for this…it has encouraged me just when i needed it.Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

