An Attitude of Gratitude

Psalm 34:1-3 I WILL bless the LORD at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make its boast in the LORD; The humble shall hear of it and be glad. Oh, magnify the LORD with me, And let us exalt His name together.

I was grumbling and complaining to the Lord in prayer one day some years ago and I asked the Lord what He thought about my situation and immediately Psalm 34:1 “I WILL bless the LORD at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth” came into my mind. That stopped my grumbling and complaining very quickly when I realized that God wanted me to bless and praise Him instead of grumbling and complaining. Did you know that the whole generation of Israelites that grumbled and complained against the Lord in the wilderness died there because they complained against Him?

Numbers 14:26-30 And the LORD spoke to Moses and Aaron, saying, “How long shall I bear with this evil congregation who complain against Me? I have heard the complaints which the children of Israel make against Me. “Say to them, ‘As I live,’ says the LORD, ‘just as you have spoken in My hearing, so I will do to you: ‘The carcasses of you who have complained against Me shall fall in this wilderness, all of you who were numbered, according to your entire number, from twenty years old and above. ‘Except for Caleb the son of Jephunneh and Joshua the son of Nun, you shall by no means enter the land which I swore I would make you dwell in.’”

Wow, I guess God takes grumbling and complaining very seriously. Not only does He want me to praise and bless Him because of His greatness and ability to change my situations in life, but it also silences the enemy’s thoughts that try to convince me that the harm that He wants to bring into my life will happen instead of the good that God wants to do. Satan’s thoughts cannot penetrate my mind when my mind is focused on the greatness of my God! When I am thinking and speaking of the goodness of God I can’t begin to think that He would not take care of my problems. My God is bigger than anything that would come against me! He is greater than any mountain that I might have to climb. He is my God and there is none above Him or beside Him!

So, it all boils down to whether I will choose to praise and bless the Lord or not. The choice is mine because God has given me a free will to decide what I will or will not do in the life plan that He has for me. But once I make the choice to praise Him even when I’m going through a dark valley, He then helps me to lift up those praises and blessings that magnify Him in the face of my difficulty. He doesn’t leave me to do it by myself or force me to stand alone in a dark place acting as if everything is A-okay in my life. He helps me!

Hebrews 13:15 Therefore by Him let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name.

“BY HIM”, or another translation says, “Through Him”, meaning that through His strength and ability we offer up a sacrifice of praise continually to Him thanking Him because of who He is to us and what He is doing in our lives. We aren’t asked to do it on our own, but through His great inner strength we gain the ability to praise and worship Him even in the midst of the storms of life.

Philippians 4:13 AMP I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

The inner strength that comes from my relationship with Jesus Christ builds me up on the inside and causes my faith to rise to the occasion that I am facing. If I’m trying to praise the Lord through a storm I will receive the strength from the Holy Spirit within me to praise even though I might not feel like it. When I make the choice and step out in faith to praise Him the strength and ability to do it is there for me to use. My praise of Him then takes my faith to new heights and lifts my spirits above the storm. You see, God is not a harsh taskmaster who commands us to do unreasonable things just to exalt Him, but He knows that when we praise Him in the midst of the storm it increases our joy and the word tells us in Nehemiah 8:10 that “the joy of the LORD is your strength”. We need the joy of the Lord to face the extreme trials and testings that we go through. God is really giving us a key to success in praising Him at all times.

Your attitude will determine your altitude in life. If you want to soar above the problems then praise the Lord in the midst of them. The only two Israelites that were allowed to enter into the Promised Land from that whole generation of people ages 20 and above was Joshua and Caleb. It is recorded in God’s word that the reason they were allowed to enter the Promised Land was because they had a different spirit within them in that they wholly followed the Lord their God.

Numbers 14:24 “But My servant Caleb, because he has a different spirit in him and has followed Me fully, I will bring into the land where he went, and his descendants shall inherit it.”

Numbers 32:11, 12 ‘Surely none of the men who came up from Egypt, from twenty years old and above, shall see the land of which I swore to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, because they have not wholly followed Me, ‘except Caleb the son of Jephunneh, the Kenizzite, and Joshua the son of Nun, for they have wholly followed Me.”

I want to be counted among those who had a different spirit, that wholly followed the Lord. How about you?

Father, I thank You and praise You today because You are my God. I know that I can trust You to bring me through any difficulty and problem when I offer up the sacrifice of praise unto Your name. You are glorious and magnificent, high above the earth and King over all. Thank You, Father, for Your mighty delivering power that brings me out of the muck and mire of this world and sets me high above the problems that I might experience. Thank You for giving me the inner strength that I need to always praise You through my problems. Thank You for saving me and giving me a home in heaven with You when this life is over. Father, I know that wherever I go You are already there waiting to walk with me through life. Thank You for the overcoming power of Your Spirit within me. Holy Spirit I invite you into my life today to lead me and guide me in the way that I should go. Father, I praise You for this day and for the good things that You have in store for me in the future. Lord Jesus, Your name is above all other names. You are the King of kings and Lord of lords and I praise You today for laying down Your life for me. Thank You for taking my sin and nailing it to the cross. Thank You for Your greatness in my life. You are mighty and magnificent and I praise You today! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: it was a pretty good year that God blessed me with | One Lifetime
  2. Trackback: STOP LIVING IN FEAR-LACK-AND-LIMITATIONS « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com
  3. Roberta Northern
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 11:43:45

    Jesus supplies what ever it is I am lacking in at the time.

    His strength and His cross and His shed blood and His resurrection has done it all for me combined with the measure of faith given to me and making me the righteousness of Father God I now can come boldly into the throne room of grace and truth.

    Wow, what more could I ever want, hope for, need, imagine or even dream of? Every hearts disire is yes and amen in Him.

    He changes my heart so that all my heart’s desires line up with His hearts desires for my life.

    When I first began reading the Bible the Lord God so impressed into me that complaining and grumbling is as of the spirit of witch craft whcih means I am making myself my own god instead of God Himself over my life.

    This time of bleakness and dryness in my life that I have just come out of was a testing and trial that kept trying to lead my to complain and grumble. Every time my mouth would get negative I would hear the conviction of Holy Spirit that I am the righteousness of Father God and the spirit of witch craft which is grumbling and complaining has been loosed from my lofe because of the cross of Jesus.

    His grace allows me to walk free from all the curse which includes complaining and grumbling which is the spirit of witch craft that no longer has any hold or power over me or in me or through me.

    When I need help in praising Him I go the the Book of Psalms and just read those Words out loud and before long I am free and full of joy and peace and here I am now today to brag on my Father god and Lord Jesus who give me the power to live free from all negativity.

    He supplies all in all because He is grace.

    Thank you Avie for a very important blog to live life by.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 26, 2012 @ 15:20:11

      Thank you, Bobbie, for your insightful comments! Grumbling and complaining are not a part of God’s GOOD PLAN for our lives. I am constantly reminded of that! Thanks for reinforcing it for me.

      God Bless!
      Avanell

      Reply

Leave a Reply

