What Is My “Happy” Weight?

 

Isn’t life interesting? As many of you know I have been on a weight loss journey for about eight months now. I had two goals in mind when I started my journey: one was to be able to fit into and wear the suit that I wore when my husband and I were married four years ago this past October 11. I reached that goal and was happy to wear that suit to church yesterday morning. The other goal was to reach a certain weight and I still have a few pounds to go to reach that goal. But yesterday morning I was reading a blog and the writer mentioned a website that you could go to that would tell you what your “happy weight” is. Well, let me tell you that intrigued me! I had never thought about my weight loss goal in that manner. So I thought I better check this out because I certainly want to have a “happy weight”! After I answered a few statistical questions about myself it revealed what weight I should be “happy” with. I was surprised to see that it actually is the same goal weight I had in mind when I started my journey to healthy living back in February. But in researching my “happy weight” I had to face these questions: “Can a person ever arrive at a ‘happy’ weight?” What does it mean to have a “happy weight”? Are people ever satisfied or contented with their own stature or status in life? It seems that we are always searching to change something in our lives, either personally or where we are in life’s journey.

Happy – Definition according to Dictionary.com:

1. delighted, pleased, or glad, as over a particular thing: to be happy to see a person.

2. characterized by or indicative of pleasure, contentment, or joy: a happy mood; a happy frame of mind.

3. favored by fortune; fortunate or lucky: a happy, fruitful land.

I began to think about happiness and what causes a person to be happy. Happiness is based on exterior circumstances. It is caused by something that happens to us rather than what is within us. But as a believer in Christ Jesus I have joy and contentment in who I am in Christ Jesus. My happiness comes from my relationship with Him, not from an exterior set of circumstances or happenings in my life that controls my moods. I am contented in Christ Jesus regardless of what I weigh because I am a person of value based on who He says I am rather than the number that reads on the scale. And yet I strive to reach my goals based on my desire to live a long, healthy life and to be all that God created me to be. My inner contentment comes from who I am in Christ Jesus. He loves me regardless of my size, shape, or performance. He loves me because He is love and He created me in His image and likeness! My desire to be a certain weight or portray a certain image is based on vain imaginings unless I submit it to God’s will for my life and then I am able to obtain a balanced approach to weight loss and healthy living.

Are you pleased with who you are in Christ Jesus? He created you just the way you are. What we do with God’s creation is our part of the equation. He created us with certain characteristics, to be a certain height and size, but we often, through unhealthy food choices, lack of exercise and improper stress management, force our bodies into an unbalanced state of health. Eating then becomes an event rather than fuel to sustain our bodies. We live to eat instead of eating to live. Our emotional state of being sometimes encourages us to eat for comfort instead of turning to the comfort of the Holy Spirit within us. We become dependent upon food as a friend instead of relying on the friendship of God.

Genesis 1:26-18 Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

God created us in His likeness and image and then He blessed us! He was pleased with His creation. Will we choose to be pleased with the way He has created us or will we always be striving to be something or someone that we aren’t. Will we ever be happy?

 

Father, I thank You for creating me in Your image and likeness. I know that I am fearfully and wonderfully made and You knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank You for blessing me! I pray this morning that as a believer in Christ Jesus I will more fully understand what You have placed within me; the power and ability of Your Spirit to lead me to make healthy choices for my life so I might honor Your creation in me. Thank You, Lord, for giving me healthy emotions and an understanding of contentment in You, not dependent upon a relationship with food but totally dependent upon my relationship with You. Thank You for giving me joy unspeakable and fully of glory! In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Success On My Terms « Lifestyles of the Queenly and Confident
  2. Roberta Northern
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 16:08:03

    What an excellent description of truth and love and grace of our Lord Jesus.

    Ever since I have been going throiugh menopause I have undergone changes in my physical body that are just so drastic and have really been a challange and battle for me.

    But, I have to remember that the battle is the Lord’s and not mine and it is not by power of might of my own making of my own flesh but by His Holy Spirit.

    I have learned so much about myself from the inside out and about about my family and living conditions that really do play a large part in my weight control.

    And all of this has taken since October of 2009 and I now eat healthy and live a healthy and active life style led by Mr. Holy Spriit but have not been able to lose any weight.

    But, I an not a quitter and will never give up and know I will achieve my weight loss but may need the help of a doctor to help me figure out what is going on with my body.

    I just now went to welfare and received a medical card which I will put to good use and since I am not in the habit of going to a doctor this is another big change in my life at this time.

    Thank you Avie for beith so faithful and authentic in sharing of yourself.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 20:06:16

      Thank you, Bobbie, for your comments. It’s good to hear from you again. I’m sorry to hear of your challenges, but I know that God will give you the direction that you need for success! Take care of your body and get the help that you need in learning what needs to be done to help take the weight off. You are precious and God has a good plan for your life!

      God bless you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

