I Know Whom I Have Believed!

II Timothy 1:12 AMP And this is why I am suffering as I do. Still I am not ashamed, for I know (perceive, have knowledge of, and am acquainted with) Him Whom I have believed (adhered to and trusted in and relied on), and I am [positively] persuaded that He is able to guard and keep that which has been entrusted to me and which I have committed [to Him] until that day.

Believed – Adhered to and trusted in and relied on.

Persuaded – To be convinced, be confident, have inward certainty and trust.

Able – Possible, strong, mighty and powerful; having the ability to act and the power to accomplish.

Committed – To deposit or trust.

In our lives, as with Paul’s, there are times when we are unable to care for everything in our lives and simply have to turn things over to Jesus to keep them for us. We, as human beings, are limited in our ability to ensure that our lives and those of our loved ones will turn out all right. We cannot control circumstances, situations, and people. There is only one who is able to do that and He is God!

I love this verse because it shows that that someone as well-known and successful in the ministry as Paul learned that he could not control his own life, but he knew someone who could. He trusted his future to God and that is what we have to do as well. Paul said he was acquainted with the One who he knew could be trusted with the important happenings in his life. Do you know that One? His name is Jesus! He is the only One that we can know for sure that will take care of the ones that we love and care about the most.

Paul said that he believed in Him. He adhered to Him, trusted in Him and relied on Him. Belief is not a mindset; it is a way of life. It is trusting someone so much that you personally rely on him for your present and future needs. To believe in someone is to know within your heart that that person can be trusted to meet your every need, to fulfill your deepest longing and desires, and to watch over everything that concerns you. Believing does not happen in your head, but in your heart.

God is able; He alone is strong enough, mighty and powerful enough, to have the ability to take care of what we give Him; the things that we turn over to Him. He alone has the power to accomplish the things that we see as impossible situations. God is ABLE!

We don’t find that out personally until we commit these things to Him and allow Him to take control. We have to commit them to Him. To commit means to deposit them with Him. When I make a deposit into my bank account I no longer have to watch over my money because I have placed it in the safety of a banking institution. I trust them to put it into my account and keep it there until I need to withdraw it for a purchase. I don’t think about it every day and wonder if it is still there; I just trust that they are keeping it safe for me.

But placing your valuables, your family members, your present and future needs with God is much more certain and safe than putting your money in a bank. God cannot fail! He is all-powerful, all-present and all-knowing.

What is it that you need to commit to God today? Do you trust Him to watch over and care for those things; those loved ones? Sometimes we think we have committed them into His care and then we find ourselves pulling them back, taking back the control over them.

II Peter 5:7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

We are told in this scripture to “cast” our cares upon Him. My husband is a bass fisherman and when we got married he taught me how to “cast” my line out to catch a fish. There’s a certain way to do it and you have to make sure that you get your line out far enough to be able to reel it back in past the fish so they see it and think it’s a little fish swimming by. There is an art to casting your line out for fishing. You don’t just haphazardly throw it out there. The same is true with casting your cares on the Lord. To cast is to throw with power. The underlining meaning of this word is to get them as far away from you as possible, where you are not able to reach them any longer. If they are cast away from you to someone else you can’t get to them to take them back.

Psalm 55:22 Cast your burden on the LORD, And He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

Have you cast your burdens on Jesus? He will sustain you through the difficulties and challenges of life. He will never allow you to be moved off your trust in Him.

Father, I thank You that we can come to You and commit our lives, the lives of our loved ones, our needs and future to You and know that You will be faithful to watch over and protect those things that we deposit with You. Thank You for taking care of the things that concern us. We need You in our lives and can’t successfully live life without You. Father, I pray for my friends this morning who may be struggling with the cares of life. I ask You, Lord, to reveal to them that You are willing and able to help them. That You love them and care about their lives and want to help them. Father, help them to cast their cares on You and trust You to keep those things that they commit unto You. Thank You, Father, for instilling within them the peace that passes all understanding so that they will know that You are taking care of their concerns. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 14:51:12

    Hi Avie,beautiful place you have here and a good encouraging word,I love how you explained the tossing! I had many problems with that scripture and God just cleared that up through you “wooooohoooo”! God is so good,thanks for your visit.
    Love you 😀

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Oct 22, 2012 @ 15:36:32

      Thank you, Pat! To God be the glory! I pray that He has ministered to you through it and your life is eased and strengthened by the Holy Spirit as you “cast your cares” on Him.

      God Bless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

