Let It Be To Me According To Your Word

Luke 1:38 Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the LORD! Let it be to me according to your word.” And the angel departed from her.

Did you know that when God speaks a word into your life that you will never be the same again?

Mary had a visitation from the angel of the Lord that totally changed her life. She received what He told her by faith and humbly submitted herself to God’s plan for her life without questioning every detail of how it would happen or what others would think of her. By understanding her position as a servant of the Most High God, Mary was willing to pay the price to be the vessel that God would flow through to impact the world for His Kingdom. She simply responded with her desire that His will be done in her life.

“Let it be to me according to your word.”

Can you imagine what could have been going through her mind at that moment? Here she was a young teenager engaged to Joseph, ready to being her married life, and an angel appears to her and tells her that she is going to be overshadowed by the Holy Spirit and impregnated with the seed of Almighty God and will give birth to the Son of God! Her only question was, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?” Mary knew what it took to get pregnant. She was a virtuous young lady, and yet she willingly submitted to God’s will for her life. She knew the risks of becoming pregnant before marriage and how she could possibly lose her future husband and be stoned to death for unfaithfulness. She knew the possibility of her family rejecting her and all of society looking at her as an outcast. All of these things must have been going through her mind and yet…..”Let it be to me according to your word.”

The calling that God had on Mary’s life was a very real calling; He wanted to do great and mighty things through her life. He has a calling on each one of our lives. Will you be willing to surrender to His calling regardless of the possible consequences on your life?

Mary’s cousin, Elizabeth, later made this statement about her: “Blessed is she who believed, for there will be a fulfillment of those things which were told her from the Lord.” Elizabeth called Mary “blessed” because she believed the message from the Lord that the angel had delivered to her. Mary was blessed to be a vessel that God could use to usher His salvation into the world. Each one of us is blessed to be a blessing to those around us, no matter how small or how great. We tend to view the ones that are more visible as being of greater use to the Lord, but He sees each one of us as His own special messenger, sent to do the work that He has called us to do. None is greater than another in God’s eyes. But each calling is just as vitally important as the next one. The only requirement that God has of us is as we yield to His will for His life that we have faith to believe that, as Mary, it will be as He has said; that we will believe Him to fulfill His work through us.

Father, I thank You for choosing me to do whatever You desire to do through my life. I yield my will to Yours and receive the calling that You have on my life to effect change in my world. Father, I ask You to make it clear to me what You would have me to do and say as You direct me to share Your word and Your love with those around me. I ask You, Lord, to give me the courage that I need to stand up and be counted for Your righteous cause in this day and hour; that I might not give in to the ways of the world, but will continue to stand in faith believing that You will do in me and through me what You have planned for my life. I pray for my friends this morning that they might also seek Your will for their lives and then stand in faith believing that You will bring it to pass in Your time. Give them the vision that You want them to have of the calling that You have on each of their lives. Empower them by Your Spirit to do the work and give them courage to stand strong in the face of adversity. Thank You, Father, for making us world changers in these last days. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

MY LOVE

My life is in You, Lord

My heart is in Your hand.

Each day Your Spirit guides me

And causes me to stand.

I listen for Your voice,

I love to hear You speak.

You brighten up my valleys,

Without You I am weak.

Thank You for Your love, Lord.

You are my life, my light.

You are my King, my Master,

My song in the night.

I pledge my love to You, Lord.

I give You all I am.

I’ll walk this day with You,

My shepherd, like a lamb.

~Avanell ~ 1999

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 11:29:02

    This is such a right on time message for me sent from heaven above through you who are a special gift for His body of believers.

    Your poem echoes exactly my spirit and soul for Lord Jesus.

    According to your will, your plan, your Word let it be done unto me because of your great love for me in the name of Jesus.

    His plan for me will never hurt or harm me because of His ever lasting and all encompassing love of me which He has for all others as well.

    This blog has spoken to me so clearly and was like a fresh breath of air and a splash of cold, clear and sparkling water to my troubled soul.

    Thank you Sweet Avie.

    You are so deeply loved, highly favored and blerssed beyond understanding in the name of Jesus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

