Angels ‘Round About Us

 

2 Kings 6:14-17 Therefore he sent horses and chariots and a great army there, and they came by night and surrounded the city. And when the servant of the man of God arose early and went out, there was an army, surrounding the city with horses and chariots. And his servant said to him, “Alas, my master! What shall we do?” So he answered, “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” And Elisha prayed, and said, “LORD, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.” Then the LORD opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw. And behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

The enemy had set up an attack for Elisha because he had told the king of Israel where the Syrian army was waiting to attack them. The king of Syria wanted to take Elisha out so he couldn’t reveal any more of his secrets to the king of Israel. Elisha was a big threat to the enemy because the Lord revealed things to him that he would pass on to his countrymen.

The enemy often lays in wait for the people of God to attack them. But as Elisha prayed for his servants eyes to be opened to see into the spirit realm he was able to see that God had already provided the needed help to cause them to win the attack. God has provided for us as well. We have an army of angels at our disposal. The book of Hebrews chapter 1 tells us that God’s angels are ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation.

Hebrews 1:13, 14 But to which of the angels has He ever said: “Sit at My right hand, Till I make Your enemies Your footstool”? Are they not all ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation?

The ministry of angels is vast, but they all do God’s word. They follow His directions in ministering unto the heirs of salvation.

Psalm 103:20, 21 Bless the LORD, you His angels, Who excel in strength, who do His word, Heeding the voice of His word. Bless the LORD, all you His hosts, You ministers of His, who do His pleasure.

God sends His angels out to help us, to do what He tells them to do. Most of the time we can’t see them or if we can we often don’t recognize them as angels, but they are here, all around us.

Psalm 91:9-12 Because you have made the LORD, who is my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place, No evil shall befall you, Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling; For He shall give His angels charge over you, To keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, Lest you dash your foot against a stone.

God gives His angels charge over us to protect us. Dr. Billy Graham, after observing the plural in this text, concluded that each believer must have at least two angels whose assigned duty it is to protect them. This scripture has always been very comforting to me and I often pray and thank God for giving His angels charge over me to guard and keep me in all my ways. God’s word assures us that He has given us the help that we need in whatever battle we are fighting.

Psalm 34:7 The angel of the LORD encamps all around those who fear Him, And delivers them.

Have you ever had God open your eyes to see into the spirit realm where your angels were waiting to help you? I have never had that privilege, but by faith I understand that the word of God is true and I place my trust in Him for the protection of His angels.

Father, I thank You for the ministry of Your angels in our lives. Father, I know that You have provided the help that we need in whatever difficulty we find ourselves. We are never alone. Your Spirit lives within us and your angels are around us. Thank You for protecting us from the evil one. I pray for my friends, this morning, who may be needing the assurance that You have provided angelic help for them in their time of need. I pray, Father, that you will open their eyes to see the angels around them that You’ve sent to guard them and keep them in all their ways. Thank You, Father, for giving us the assurance that Your angels have been sent to minister to those of us who inherit Your salvation! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy French
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 17:39:04

    Avie, I do believe I have seen an angel once deep in the night. I know they follow me closely and have kept me from harm all of my life. I often thank them when I don’t know how I have escaped being hit by a car, or something equally as bad. You know Joanna talks to her angels and is much more involved in the spiritual realm than I but yes, oh yes, I know they are there-I would not be alive still w/out their care!

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Nov 03, 2012 @ 18:46:12

      If God chooses to reveal them to you, Cindy, then that’s great! But as Jesus told Thomas when he doubted Him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” (John 20:29) I believe He will allow us to see the angels if we need that, but faith in His word about His angels is more important than seeing. When we understand that we believe because God said it then that’s what pleases Him. I personally have not seen one, but I know people like you who have been blessed to be able to see into the spirit realm where they are active!

      God Bless!

      Reply

      • Cindy French
        Nov 03, 2012 @ 20:16:31

        I know that’s why I hadn’t really said anything to anyone about it before. Because the trusting is so important, I think at the time that I “happened to awaken” and see him, I was just in such an anguished state-the aura in the whole room was blue. I just stayed very still, I wasn’t afraid. I knew exactly what he was and to that degree I was comforted because I knew he was there to watch over me.

      • aviesplace2012
        Nov 03, 2012 @ 20:18:48

        Wow! That’s a neat experience, Cindy. Thanks for sharing it with me!

  2. read more
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 02:25:32

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back often!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

