Ah, Lord God!

Names of God

Father, I thank You for Who You are to me. I thank You for making a way where there seems to be no way and for doing the impossible! You are Elohim, the Almighty God, the Creator of heaven and earth and all that is within it. You are Jehovah, the Great I AM, the self-existent One, Who is ever-present with us! You are the God Who is more than enough, El-Shadai, the all-sufficient One! You are Jehovah-Jireh, the God who provides for my every need! You are Jehovah Rapha, the God who heals! You are El Elyon, the Most High God! You are El-Roi, the God who sees everything that we go through! You never sleep and You never slumber, but You are always aware of what we are experiencing. You are Adonai, my Lord and Master! I praise You this morning because You are worthy to receive my praise!

 

As I think back through the years and ponder on my relationship with God I can’t help but think about the impact that the Bible Study “Lord, I Want To Know You”, by Kay Arthur, had upon my life. It was through that Bible Study that I came to know the Lord through learning about His names and what they mean. I learned to depend on Elohim, the Lord our God, the Mighty God! Elohim, God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. One in essence and character, but three persons united as One.

 

It was through this study that I learned about how God revealed Himself to the Hebrews in their time of need. God came to them and revealed Himself to them as the solution to their problem by the name that He was known as. When they needed healing He revealed Himself as Jehovah Rapha, the Lord Who heals. It was at each of these times that they needed Him that He came as the the One who held that answer within His character and nature. He is Jehovah-Jireh, the God Who provides!

 

It is this God that I know, that I love and that I serve! He is worthy today of all praise, glory and honor! And I choose to worship Him in spirit and in truth!

 

As I got up this morning this song was running through my mind. Regardless of the sadness of heart that I feel today in Gerald and I having lost a friend, I am reminded that nothing is too difficult for my God! He is worthy of my praise and worship and I choose to do that!

I will praise You, Lord!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cindyhfrench
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 19:29:04

    Avanell, I am sorry for the loss of your friend, but I sure that he is happy with our dear Lord. What a tribute it is to your friendship that you could write of our Lord in this way while still grieving your loss of his presence as your friend. In times like these the only way I have gotten through it, is to picture my friend or my family member with Jesus. Because I know that they are either dancing, or singing, or just praising our Lord God-but knowing they are happy and perfect now forever makes it worth the little while of doing without them.
    by the way, our landlady gave us her heartfelt ok today!

    so as soon as we can finalize something that God says this is it,we will be on our way. As usual, the Lord took care of all the details!

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 08:57:36

      Thank you, Cindy, for your condolences.

      I am so happy for the response from your landlady! God is showing Himself strong on your behalf! Can’t wait to see how all this unfolds!

      God bless you!

      Reply

  2. Christadelphians
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 07:43:38

    The song has some good ‘zip.’ and could be lovely to use in a joyful service. But! Your writing is very good, but a pity that there is such a big mistake in the video where Jesus, the son of god and son of man is the person called to cry out to. The One person to whom we have to pray and cry out to is Jehovah God.
    It is true that nothing is too difficult for God. Also Jesus could not do the things without his Father. Though Jesus may be the mediator between God and men, all honour should be given to the One and Only One God, Elohim Hashem Jehovah.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jan 03, 2013 @ 08:04:32

      Thank you for your comment! Sometimes people get lost in the “terminology” that is used. My intention is to give God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit their rightful place of honor in all my writings and to lead people to the one true God through the crucifixion and resurrection of His Son, Jesus Christ!

      God Bless!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Song of Praise for the Elohim Set-Apart « Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven
  4. Trackback: Theology – The Doctrine of God-Part 4 « God's Word for Women
  5. Trackback: Preiset Jehova, Denn es ist gut, unserem Gott Melodien zu spielen | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

