There’s Power In The Blood

Mosquito funny

Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

It is the time of the year when we all begin to think about what we will do in the upcoming year. There will be New Year resolutions that many will make and hope to see fulfilled. New diets will be started; some will stop smoking and vow to give it up through the power of a New Year’s resolution. But the only thing that works successfully is what is done through the power of the blood of Jesus. Life can’t be lived to fulfillment through human, fleshly endeavors. The only sustainable success is found in the life that we life in Jesus Christ. If you lack the victory, you might want to take a look at from what you are trying to achieve your success. Is it through trying to be good, or strong enough to accomplish it on your own? Or is it through your dependency on Christ Jesus?

I see three key components in Galatians 2:20:

  • 1) When Christ died on that cross, I died with Him. Does that mean that I physically went to the cross and died? No, it’s a spiritual death in relation to the ability of sin to reign over me. Paul said in Romans 6:6:

knowing this, that our old man was crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves of sin.

Once Jesus nailed our sins to the cross, that dominion of sin over our lives was broken. Now when we sin it is because we have yielded to it. There is no power of sin that holds a believer in Christ captive to do what it wants. We have the freedom to choose.

Romans 6:12-14 Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body, that you should obey it in its lusts. And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God. For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace.

We no longer have to obey the lust of the flesh, the sinful acts that go against God’s righteous plan for our lives. Sin no longer gets to control us. We now can yield to the power of the Holy Spirit through the blood of Jesus that was shed for us to obtain victory in every area of our lives! Hallelujah!

  • 2) Christ lives in me. According to Colossians 2:8-10 In Christ dwells the fullness of the Godhead in bodily form. It goes on to say that we are complete in Christ Jesus who is the head of all principality and power. What exactly does it mean to be “in Him”? Well, to me it means that when I accepted Christ Jesus as my Lord and Savior I was placed “in Him”, in the family of God and in Him I lack nothing that I need, whether it is physical, spiritual, mental, emotional or financial, because there is no lack in Christ Jesus. The fullness of God bodily dwells in Him. He is the Head and I am a part of His Body, the Church.
  • 3) The life I now live I live by faith in the Son of God. I live my life in Christ Jesus by faith, not by sight; not by what I see, feel, hear, think or touch, but by what the Word of God says. Faith reaches out and takes the word of God literally by believing it is true and that it will work in my life before I see it happen in the natural. If God says I can do all things through Christ Jesus and He places within my heart to accomplish something for Him or to better my life in Him, then I depend on His directions to accomplish it and step out in faith to do it. I don’t wait for things to line up perfectly so I can see that it will work, I rest my trust in Him to lead me to accomplish it by faith.

Ecclesiates 11:4 NIV Whoever watches the wind will not plant; whoever looks at the clouds will not reap.

If you are waiting for things to be perfect, then you will wait all your life because perfection is not in this world that we live in. If we do not seek the Lord and follow His directions we’ll be waiting forever for a perfect set of circumstances in which to accomplish what we desire.

My desire for 2013 is as the picture above states: to be so full of Christ Jesus that even the mosquito who bites me goes away saying: “there’s power in the blood”! In other words, I pray that in the upcoming year my life will reflect to all around me that it is the life of Jesus within me that accomplishes all that I set out to do. For I am not my own, I was bought with a price: the precious blood of Jesus!

1 Peter 1:18, 19; 21 NIV For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect. Through Him you believe in God, who raised Him from the dead, and glorified Him, and so your faith and hope are in God.

I like how the New International Version describes my life before I met Christ: “the empty way of life”. My life was empty before I came to salvation through the blood of Jesus Christ. My life now is full and exciting with purpose! I know who I am in Christ Jesus. How about you?

I am....

Father, I thank You for this year. I can look back and see things that I would have liked to have been different, but I know that Your goodness has surrounded me throughout this year and that You will go before me into 2013 to prepare my way to be successful and victorious in it! Thank You, Father, for the power that I have in the blood of Jesus to effect change not only in my life, but in the lives of others around me. There is power in the blood of Jesus! Thank You, Lord Jesus, for shedding your precious blood that all mankind might be free from the dominion of sin, sickness and disease and poverty and lack. I thank You for the full work that you did on the cross for mankind. Your died for the whole man: spirit, soul and body and I thank You for the complete work effected on our behalf through Your death, burial and resurrection! To You be all glory and honor and praise!

Father, I pray for those this morning who are expecting You to work miracles in their lives in the upcoming year. It is by faith that we receive all things from You. Your grace has provided for our every need and our faith is the vehicle that brings it into manifestation. As You prayed for Simon Peter in Luke 22:32 that his faith might not fail in the time of testing by Satan, so I pray for my friends this morning that their faith would be strengthened for the journey and that they would be able to accomplish those things that are set before them through faith in You, in Your ability to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we could ask or imagine through Your power that works in us. Thank You,

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta Northern
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 15:47:06

    His blood is what gives me life because the life is in the blood.

    What ever He does for me He does for all others who will believe and receive.

    Jesus is for all “who so evers” which does not leave out anyone at all.

    I can’t count the number of times I imagine in my mind of being washed and permeated in the shed blood of Jesus and I can say it does something to me from the inside out because without His shed innocent blood we have no life and then the resurrection together with His blood seals our salvation.

    I have life because of His blood and I am redeemed by His blood and His resurrection and this is so exciting to me and this applies to everyone who has ever been born onto this earth.

    I actually have seen in my mind His blood soaking into me as a sponge soaks up what ever is spilled. His blood is in me, on me, and surrounds me and protects me and builds His hedge of protection and His wall of fire.

    Our Father God and Savior and Lord Jesus and indwelling Holy Spirit loves us so much.

    You have enriched me for the day by feeding me truth about His blood and I love feasing on His blood and body in the name of Jesus.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: JESUS, You Are Different! | RACHEL is standingupforJC!

Leave a Reply

