Shout It From The Housetops!

Jesus is the way2

Matthew 10:27, 28 “Whatever I tell you in the dark, speak in the light; and what you hear in the ear, preach on the housetops. “And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.”

Jesus told His disciples to be bold in telling others what they had heard from Him. They were not to be afraid of man, but to have reverence and awe for Him, the One who held their eternal destinies in His hands.

As I was praying this morning this scripture came to my mind. I was asked recently if the blogs that I write are from an outside source or are they mine. As I answered that person I can assuredly say to you that these blogs come directly from the Holy Spirit as I seek the Lord early in the morning and listen to share what He shares with me. It is my heart to win the lost and see the saved healed, delivered and set free from bondage. With that in mind I must seek the Lord every day to hear and share what is on His heart for I know that apart from Jesus I can do nothing!

John 15:5 “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.”

What does it mean to “abide”? The Greek word in John 15:5 for abides is the word meno, which means “to stay (in a given place, state, relation or expectancy):– abide, continue, dwell, endure, be present, remain, stand, tarry. To abide in Christ Jesus is to stay connected to Him, to continue in relationship with Him and to live in expectancy of what He says and does. I desire to be filled with His words, His thoughts, His emotions and to be able to pass those things that I hear from Him on to my readers.

Jesus told Simon Peter that if he truly loved Him he would feed and tend His sheep.

John 21:15-17 So when they had eaten breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me more than these?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord, You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Feed My lambs.” He said to him again a second time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Tend My sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, “Do you love Me?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You.” Jesus said to him, “Feed My sheep.”

As believers in Christ Jesus can we say as Simon Peter said, “Yes, Lord, You know that I love You”? If we say “yes”, then should that love for Him be exemplified through our actions? Should we not care for Him enough to continue the work that He began when He walked on this earth?

As I get older I am reminded more and more that life is short and it becomes more and more important with each passing day that I fulfill the call that God has on my life to share His word and His love with people around the world. I don’t think that is too much for Him to ask of me. In fact, I believe He gives each of us a mandate to fulfill the Great Commission.

Mark 16:15 And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.”

Jesus gave these instructions to His disciples before He ascended back into Heaven after His crucifixion. I believe that these instructions still stand today as a mandate to those who continue to follow Him. We must be about our Father’s business in calling the lost to salvation, sharing with others that they can be free from sin, sickness and disease and poverty and lack. We have been given a mandate to share what He shares with us with others.

Matthew 10:7, 8 “And as you go, preach, saying, ‘The kingdom of heaven is at hand.’ “Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out demons. Freely you have received, freely give.”

As I receive from the Lord I am instructed to give it away. That’s what I endeavor to do. In the Old Testament the Priest went before God on behalf of the people and then took what He heard from the Father and shared it with the people. He was the go-between for the Israelites; he made sacrifices for their sins so they would be clean before God and then what the Father said to him he was instructed to take back out to the people and tell them so they could know what was on the Father’s heart. Today, as individual believers in Christ Jesus, we have been made a nation of priests and kings unto our God.

Revelation 1:4-6 John, to the seven churches which are in Asia: Grace to you and peace from Him who is and who was and who is to come, and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne, and from Jesus Christ, the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler over the kings of the earth. To Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

Jesus, through His sacrifice on the cross on our behalf, has made us kings and priests to His God and Father. We no longer have to go through an earthly Priest to approach the throne of God. We can come boldly into His presence to receive what we need from Him. Jesus, our High Priest, stands between us and the Father making the way into the holy of holies now open to us.

Hebrews 4:14-16 Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

We can come as individuals into God’s presence to obtain mercy and grace to help in our time of need. God wants to commune with His children. It is through our relationship with Jesus as we abide in Him that He is able to share His heart with us. When He shares those things with us that need to be passed on to others we are to freely give them away. He wants us to shout from the rooftops those things that are to be told about His love, His mercy, His grace, His forgiveness, His great salvation!

Before Jesus’ birth the shepherds were watching their flocks by night when the Angel of the Lord appeared unto them to tell them of the upcoming birth of the Savior, Jesus Christ. After they heard about His birth and went to see the great Babe in the manger that was the Savior of the world, the scripture records that they went and told what they had seen and heard.

Luke 2:17 Now when they had seen Him, they made widely known the saying which was told them concerning this Child.

Good news cannot be hidden under a bushel! It must be shared with others.

Matthew 5:14-16 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. “Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Is your light for Jesus shining brightly today? As the world gets darker the lights of Christians will shine brighter. I challenge you today to share what you’ve heard from the Lord, to tell it on the mountains and shout it from the housetops!

“And do not fear those who can kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.”

Father, I thank You for saving me, for delivering me from the power of darkness and conveying me into the kingdom of the Son of Your love. Thank You for making me Yours. Father, today I pray that I will always be aware of the need of those around me to hear Your word, to experience Your love and that I will always be brave enough to share what You have spoken to me in the dark and preach the message of salvation that You have given me to those who are lost and perishing. May I fulfill the call that You have on my life before my life is over.

Father, I pray for those who do not know You this morning. I pray that the true meaning of Christmas will be revealed to them this year that they might come to know Jesus, the Babe that was born in a manger that came to be the Lamb of God that was sacrificed for their sins. May they come to know Him as the risen Lord; high and exalted above this world of sin and their only way to salvation.

I pray for my brothers and sisters in Christ that they would have the boldness to share You and what you have done in their lives with others around them. I pray that they would rise up to be the army of God that You have called them to be. I pray that they would have that Holy Spirit boldness and courage that comes from abiding in Christ and that You would shine through them as a light in the darkness around them. Father reveal Yourself through them, touch others through them, heal through them, bring deliverance through their bold confession of You. I pray that many will come to salvation through their witness! And I thank You, Father, for hearing and answering my prayer this morning. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Developing a Kingdom Mindset « YourJesusMind

Leave a Reply

