My Heart Overflows!

Psalm 19 14

Isaiah 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my Redeemer.

What are you meditating on in your heart? That is what will come out of your mouth. The Psalmist says that he prays the words that come out of his mouth and the things that he is thinking about in his heart will be acceptable to God. Have you ever thought about whether or not what you are thinking about and saying are pleasing to God?

Psalm 45:1 My heart is overflowing with a good theme; I recite my composition concerning the King; My tongue is the pen of a ready writer.

The Psalmist here says that his heart is overflowing with a good theme and that is what flows from his tongue. You can tell pretty quickly what a person is thinking about all the time because that’s what you hear coming out of the mouth. Words can never be taken back, they simply wait out there in the air to be remembered by whomever spoke them or heard them.

Proverbs 21:23 Whoever guards his mouth and tongue Keeps his soul from troubles.

Proverbs 18:20, 21 A man’s stomach shall be satisfied from the fruit of his mouth; From the produce of his lips he shall be filled. Death and life are in the power of the tongue. And those who love it will eat it fruit.

There’s so much in the word of God regarding the tongue and the effects our words have on ourselves and those around us. In Matthew 12:33-37 Jesus even chastised those around him for the things they were saying.

“Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or else make the tree bad and its fruit bad; for a tree is known by its fruit. “Brood of vipers! How can you, being evil speak good things? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things. “But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. “For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

Evidently God cares very deeply about what we say, even to the point of holding us accountable on the day of judgment for our words. We will have to give account of them and we’ll either be justified by them or condemned. I pray as the Psalmist said in Psalm 19:14 that the words of my mouth and the meditation in my heart would be acceptable to my God!

 

Father, I come before You this morning ever mindful of the words that I have spoken in so many instances that I know have not been pleasing to You. Father, we may think that as long as we don’t use curse words that our language is good, but that’s not true. You’ve said in Your Word that if we are thinking about wrong things and our mouth speaks that out that we can be unacceptable to You. I pray, Father, that there will be a good theme running through my heart that my mouth will speak about. Today I give You my heart and my mouth that You might cleanse them and cause me to think on the good things that will eventually flow out of my mouth. Father, may I speak in accordance with Your Word for Your word is truth. If I think on Your word then my speech will be acceptable to You. Thank You, Father, for cleansing my heart and mouth so I can speak forth the right things. May my words be uplifting and comforting to those around me. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Red heart

Confession for today: My heart is overflowing with the truth of God’s Word and my mouth reflects it by it’s speech. I speak life into every situation!

Leave a Reply

