Monkey See, Monkey Hear, Monkey Do

As a young child I was easily influenced by those around me.  Being the youngest of five children I had a lot of examples in my life.  And, of course, they were all good!  But children often live by what they see in those around them more than what they are told.  God gives us instruction in His Word about how we are to relate to each other and then asks us to portray that picture to the world.

Romans 15:5-7 May God, who gives this patience and encouragement, help you live in complete harmony with each other—each with the attitude of Christ Jesus toward the other. Then all of you can join together with one voice, giving praise and glory to God, the Father our Lord Jesus Christ. So accept each other just as Christ has accepted you; then God will be glorified.

This scripture always speaks to my heart! It reminds me to give others the same chance in life that God has given me. Verse 7 is the one that really stands out to me: “So accept each other just as Christ has accepted you; then God will be glorified.”  It is as we put this into practice that we live in harmony with each other and God receives the glory! Jesus said in John 13:35 that people would know that we are His disciples by the love that we have for one another.

How does God see us and accept us?

God knows everything about you

  • He sees us made in His image and likeness.

Genesis 1:26, 27 Then God said, “Let Us made man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

  • He sees us as His own special people.

2 Peter 2:9 But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light;

Fearfully & Wonderfully Made

  • He sees us as a unique person, each one fearfully and wonderfully made.

Psalm 139:13, 14 For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.

  • He sees us in our sin and weaknesses in need of a Savior.

John 3:16, 17 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. “For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.”

  • He sees us as once lost, but now found.

Ephesians 2:4-9 But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace have you been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

  • He sees us as His workmanship, a work still in progress, created for good works.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.

Philippians 1:6 being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.

  • How did He receive us? – In love, at our worst, He came and reached down and picked us up and made us whole in Christ Jesus!

God loved us at our darkest

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates His love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

1 John 4:10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

  • How does He feel about us now? He’s crazy in love with us!

Romans 8:32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?

Psalm 139:17, 18 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; When I awake, I am still with You.

Inscribed on God's hands

Isaiah 49:15, 16 “Can a woman forget her nursing child, And not have compassion of the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, Yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; Your walls are continually before Me.”

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.

Do you need the Savior today? Jesus is waiting to receive you into the family of God. If you will ask Him into your heart He will come to live within you by the power of His Spirit. He will love you, be your dearest friend and give you the satisfaction that only comes from filling the void within your heart with His very own presence. How can you turn down the One who loves you the most? Will you surrender your heart to Jesus today and receive the life that He came to give you? If you want a difference in your life; if you want to experience wholeness in your relationships and peace in your heart, then pray this prayer with me and mean it sincerely in your heart:

Father, I come before You today to say that I see from Your word that You love me. I know that Jesus died for me, that You gave His life to be the payment for my sin, for my willful choice of living my life for myself. I ask You to forgive me and save me from my sin. Father, I believe that Jesus died for me personally and that if I ask Him He will come into my heart and save me. I ask You, Lord Jesus, to do that, to come into my heart and be my own personal Lord and Savior. I thank You for saving me. I promise to live from this day forward for You. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

If God received us when we were at our worst then how can we not extend the same grace to those around us?

Don't see everyone's flaws

Father, may we always see the best in those around us. May we extend friendship to them just as you extended salvation to us. Father, I pray that those who are hurting will feel the love from those around them who are reaching out to them. I ask You to set up divine appointments for them to interact with people who will show Your love to them in ways that they will receive. Father, may we never be guilty of turning someone away who needs to see Jesus through us. I pray these things in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

