Divine Instruction

Psalm 32 8

Psalm 32:8, 9 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye. Do not be like the horse or like the mule, Which have no understanding, Which must be harnessed with bit and bridle, Else they will not come near you.

Divine instruction from the Lord is imperative for us to live a successful life. His training in righteousness is essential! In these two verses God tells us that our attitude towards His instruction is the key to success. We can either listen and welcome His direction or we can be like a horse or mule that is so stubbornly set in their own ways that they will not even come near instruction without having to be forced.

Instruct – Hebrew word sakal – means to be prudent, be circumspect, wisely understand, prosper; to look at or upon, have insight; to give attention to, consider, ponder, be prudent; to have insight, have comprehension; to cause to consider, give insight, teach; to cause to prosper.

Teach – Hebrew word yarah – means to throw, teach, shoot, point out. The primary meaning of yarah is “to shoot straight” or “to direct the flow” of something.

I believe in Psalm 32:8 that the Lord is saying that He will look upon us and give attention to us, and cause us to wisely understand His ways. He will shoot us as an arrow from an archer’s bow to hit the target for successful living according to His commandments. He mentions both “instruct and teach” in that verse. In our English language those two words carry a similar definition, but there is a difference between the Eastern and Western definitions of words. In the Hebrew culture teaching and learning came from the same root word which is Lamad, which means “to teach” and “to learn” For Lamad to be successful, the student had to learn and until the student had learned the teacher had not really taught. The student’s success in learning was dependent upon the teacher’s success in teaching; in getting his point across so the student could comprehend. When we have the the Holy Spirit as our teacher, we are assured that when He teaches us, we will learn. He doesn’t miss in giving the proper instruction for a person to hit the target for successful living.

The rest of verse 8 says, “I will guide you with My eye”. I remember when my children were little if I could get their attention without speaking I could give them a certain look and they would understand the message I was trying to relay to them. Eyes speak volumes without ever saying anything. If they were disobeying I could relay to them that they needed to straighten up without ever uttering a word. Eyes also speak love. A husband and wife can share their love for each other by simply looking into each other’s eyes.

In Psalm 32:8 the Lord is saying that through a close relationship with Him He will be able to direct the flow of our lives as we submit to His training. He will be so close to us through the instruction that it will be as if we are looking into His eyes and receiving that training through a close encounter with Him. Matthew 6:22 says that the eye is the lamp of the body; therefore when God is looking into our eyes He is filling our body with His light, His revelation, and His knowledge. He desires our undivided attention. He wants to shower His love upon us through the closeness of our relationship. It is through prayer and Bible study; listening to His sweet voice of love that we will learn the way that He intends for us to live that will cause us to prosper and be successful.

Are you ready to have the Lord teach you and instruct you in the way you are to take through that kind of a relationship? He is waiting for us to yield to Him to follow His leading and to walk in His ways.

Father, I thank You for Your intimate involvement in even the smallest details of my life. I thank You for instructing me in the way that I should go and for teaching me and training my in righteousness. Your ways are right and true and just and I desire to walk with You through all of life. I pray that You will continue to point me in the right direction; that You will direct the flow of my life according to Your commandments and statutes. I desire to live rightly before You and in such a manner that You can flow through me to touch others for Your kingdom’s glory and honor. I pray this morning for those who may be struggling in not knowing which way to go in their life. I ask You to draw them by Your Spirit into a deep, intimate relationship with You. I pray that they will surrender completely to You and allow You to lead them and guide them by Your eye. Father, have You way in our lives. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mellie
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 09:39:49

    I enjoyed this so much this morning Avie. I was reminded of two years ago when my entire world fell apart. I felt so hurt and betrayed. I wanted God’s help, but the “fixer” in me couldn’t just leave it with Him. I kept worrying and trying to fix things on my own. Needless to say, that didn’t work, and the message that God gave me over and over was not to be a stubborn person. Through His word and lots of prayer, I have been able to do that more and more. I’m not quite there yet, but with His grace, I am getting there. Thank you again for another wonderful blog!

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Mar 14, 2013 @ 10:33:42

      Thank you, Mellie. It seems to be a human weakness in us to always want to control and be the one in charge. I sometimes wonder how Holy Spirit can do His job of convicting and changing people when He has so many helpers trying to do it for Him.

      God bless you! May your day be filled with revelation from the Lord!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

