Contentment!

funnel

Philippians 4:11-13 AMP Not that I am implying that I was in any personal want, for I have learned how to be content (satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted) in whatever state I am. I know how to be abased and live humbly in straitened circumstances, and I know also how to enjoy plenty and live in abundance. I have learned in any and all circumstances the secret of facing every situation, whether well-fed or going hungry, having a sufficiency and enough to spare or going without and being in want. I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

Paul says that being content in every situation is in being satisfied to the point where we are not disturbed or disquieted in the state in which we find ourselves. Life has its ups and downs. There are good times and there are bad and either condition has its challenges. But true contentment is not allowing what is going on around me to disturb me, or knock the peace of God out of my heart. Peace is so important in being able to live successfully in this life and it comes through depending on Jesus. His strength gives us peace in the midst of the difficult days. Paul says that His sufficiency is not in himself but it is through the empowerment that Jesus supplies in him. He uses the word “infuses” in giving us the analogy of what it means to be strengthened with Christ’s sufficiency to meet the condition of our lives.

When I think of infusing something with something else I often think of a piece of meat being injected with a flavoring or seasoning. The meat has one flavor in it original condition but when it is injected or infused with the seasoning it changes the flavor of the meat. A roast is, in its original flavor, bland and not very appealing to the taste buds, but when you infuse it with a certain seasoning that flavor radiates throughout the whole piece of meat and gives it the flavor of the seasoning. When I think of how Jesus infuses us with His strength I often get a picture in my mind of Him standing over me with a funnel and pouring His strength into that funnel which goes into me, filling me with His empowerment to meet whatever challenge I have facing me. It is only through His strength, His sufficiency, that I am able to overcome whatever I am facing.

When I am infused with Christ’s sufficiency my life takes on His flavor. Suddenly things look differently and my perspective about my condition changes. His sufficiency enables me to make choices and decisions based on His perspective about my situation instead of the unstable condition that would normally influence my actions. Life becomes more balanced and stable because the circumstances surrounding my life are no longer disturbing and disquieting to me. I then reach the state of contentment!

Confession for today based on God’s word: I will rely on the strength that Jesus infuses within me to overcome the challenges of my day. I am filled to overflowing with His sufficiency that gives me the victory!

Prayer for today: Father, I thank You for the strength that You have for me that helps me to put my life in proper perspective. I ask You to fill me with Your sufficiency, Lord Jesus, to meet the challenges that I face today. I thank You for delivering me through Your strength and for filling my heart with contentment as I face whatever lies ahead of me today. May I continually focus on You and what You are doing within me to give me the victory! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

