Waiting On The Lord

Isaiah 40 31

Isaiah 40:31 AMP But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired.

As I arose this morning and looked out over the valley I felt impressed to sit a while on the deck and just take in the beauty of God’s creation around me. The sun was rising over the mountain top in the east and there was a gentle breeze blowing up through the valley below. Our first hummingbird of the season flew in to the feeder for breakfast and I sat in awe of the majesty and power of My God who created all this for my enjoyment. As I reflected on His greatness the scripture in Isaiah 40:27-31 came to my mind and I was reminded of how great My God really is. In this portion of scripture we are reminded that the same God that created the world, that set the sun, moon and stars in their rightful place is the God that controls our lives. He is the One who hears our cries for help and answers; He is the One who never grows tired or weary, who never needs someone else to give Him understanding and who always gives to us the strength and power that we need to accomplish the tasks that lie ahead of us.

Isaiah 40:29 He gives power to the faint and weary, and to him who has no might He increases strength [causing it to multiply and making it to abound].

Power – Hebrew word koach – meaning strength; power; force; ability. The basic meaning of koah is an ability to do something.

When you come to the Lord in need of strength and ability in any area of your life, He will give you that power to meet the need that you have. When you are weary, He is the One who will increase your strength, causing it to multiply. God is the need-meeter, who never runs short or lacks the ability to provide you with whatever strength or power you need to accomplish the challenges in your life.

The key to receiving from God is found in verse 31 in the word “wait”. Now this isn’t waiting in the sense that we Westerners think that means that we go to God and then have to sit and hope that He will come through with answering our request, not knowing when or if it will be answered. No, the Hebrew word for “wait” is qavah and it means to wait for, look for, and expect. It expresses the idea of “waiting hopefully” and the root of this word means “to bind together”. Waiting in the Western definition of the word “wait” often really says, “We hope He will come through for us, but we don’t really know whether He will or not so we’ll just have to wait and see”. But the Biblical definition of this word for “wait” means that we expect Him to do what He has promised. Several translations use the word “hope” in place of “wait”. There’s no doubt in our minds that He is going to do it and we are waiting expectantly for the arrival of His answer at any moment. We rest in the assurance that He will do what He has promised.

A few years ago I was going to visit my children and grandchildren when my son called and wanted to know our estimated time of arrival. He said my little granddaughter had been standing by the window watching the driveway for about a half an hour waiting to see Grandma come. She knew that I had said I would be there and she was excitedly “waiting” for my arrival. She based her expectation on what I had said, never questioning whether Grandma would keep her word or not. She just believed and acted on that belief by “waiting” and “expectantly watching” for the promise to come into manifestation.

That’s the picture that I get when I think about what God means when He says that when we “wait” upon Him we shall be renewed in strength. Our “waiting” is actually “resting” in His promise to do what He has said He will do, knowing that He keeps His promises, just like He causes the sun to rise in the morning and the moon to rise at night; just like He never faints or grows weary Himself, but is always there with an understanding heart, ready to meet our every need. That’s the God that we serve, who gives power and ability to do what we need to do and meets us with the strength that we need to accomplish the challenges of life that we encounter.

Will you wait on the Lord this morning, expecting Him to do what He has promised in His Word. That’s the basis for our waiting; knowing that we have the promises of God that are “yes” and “amen”, so be it, in Christ Jesus! (2 Cor. 1:20)

Confession for today based on God’s Word: I will wait on God, expecting Him to do as He has promised on my behalf, knowing that He does not grow weary or faint and He will do what He has said. While I wait, I will rest in His goodness, not worrying or fretting over what I have asked of Him, but knowing that He provides the strength and ability that I need to accomplish the tasks ahead of me.

Prayer for today: Father, I thank You for Who You are to me. You are my God, my personal Father, the One who created all things for my enjoyment and who continues to hold the world and all things together by the word of Your power. You are great and greatly to be praised! I thank You for the strength that You give me when I wait on You, Lord. I thank You for providing the ability that I need to meet the challenges that lie before me. Lord, I give You praise and honor and glory for Your goodness to me. Thank You for going before me into this day! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Desiray
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 08:45:43

    One of my favorite verse, if we can’t wait then we won’t see the blessing of the rest of this scripture being lived out in our lives. so often we want the blessing first without doing our part. God gives us His blessings and promises but He also tells us that we must do our part. So in this verse you have here if a person is not going to wait on the Lord then they will faint and give up, they won’t mount up on wings like eagles.

    Great post! have a bless day

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 10:55:40

      That is so true, Desiray! Thank you for your comment. Many times we get impatient with God when we don’t see the instant manifestation of what we are asking of Him. Then we rush out disappointed when the problem lies within us. If only we would wait!

      God bless! May you have a blessed day as well!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: The Good Things Are Pouring Forth | Faith

Leave a Reply

