Your Focus Either Feeds Your Faith Or Fuels Your Fears!

Faith In God

Ephesians 2:11-13 NLT Don’t forget that you Gentiles used to be outsiders by birth. You were called “the uncircumcised ones” by the Jews, who were proud of their circumcision, even though it affected only their bodies and not their hearts. In those days you were living apart from Christ. You were excluded from God’s people. Israel, and you did not know the promises God had made to them. You lived in this world without God and without hope. But now you belong to Christ Jesus. Though you once were far away from God, now you have been brought near to him because of the blood of Christ.

 

Before I came to know Jesus as my own personal Lord and Savior, the word says that I was “without God and without hope”. But now I have been brought near to God because of the blood of Christ. I now belong to Him. That means that I now have hope; my future is positive because I have His promises that speak of life instead of death, hope instead of hopelessness; peace instead of turmoil; order instead of chaos; I have life in Him that is abundant life!

 

I’m so glad that I am now a child of hope because my God is the God of hope! His promises are “yes and Amen” in Christ Jesus. (2 Corinthians 1:20) And those promises are to the glory of God when worked through me! How can I not win when God is on my side?!

 

I had a lady that I was mentoring one time who, when I was trying to encourage her through proclaiming that God had a good plan for her life, simply said to me “is that true or is it just a ‘faith’ statement that you are making?”. One of the problems in people’s lives today is that they can’t see past their circumstances to see into the promises of God. Life with all of it’s challenges has become bigger than their God. Yes, I make “faith statements” based on God’s promises. I would much rather proclaim the promises of God than the negative circumstances that may be taking place in my life right now. God is a positive, faith-filled God. He has set down in His word promises for us by which we are to live our lives.

Feed your faith

What you focus on will either feed your faith or it will fuel your fears. I don’t like fear and don’t want any part of it in my life. A few days ago I killed a brown recluse spider in my house. I made the mistake of posting that on Facebook and, from it, had the most comments of any posting I have ever made. By the time I drew that post to an end I had comments from “yuck and ewwww” to “if you have one, you have an infestation”. Out of about 21 comments only a couple offered me any encouragement based on the Word of God. By the time I got the last comment about having an infestation of brown recluse spiders in my home, fear was beginning to take root in my thoughts. I realized that I had allowed others, supposedly “faith-filled people”, who should have been filling my heart with faith, to speak just the opposite into my life. I had to stop, take authority over fear, and bring that post to a close.

 

What you allow into your eye-gate and ear-gate will eventually take root in your heart. Do you want that to be the truth of God’s word or the negative thoughts of fear, doubt and unbelief? I choose to believe and put my hope and trust in God, who is the author and finisher of my faith. His word is my standard for living and I choose to speak His word over my life instead of the negative, fearful things that I might see going on around me.

 

Are you without hope today? I pray that you will get into God’s word and see all the promises that He has for your life.

 

Romans 15:13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

 

I pray that the “God of hope” will fill you with “all joy and peace” as you believe, that you may “abound in hope” by the “power of the Holy Spirit”.

 

Do you lack hope, joy and peace? Start believing in the promises of God, proclaim them over your life and then take note of what is rising up within you, faith and hope or fear and doubt? I can say without a doubt that when I focus on God, His goodness and the plan He has for my life that it causes faith to well up within me. Fear is dispelled when subjected to the light of God’s word!

 

Father, I thank You for the hope that I have in Christ Jesus. I thank You for showing me that when I focus on You and Your greatness all negativity must go and is replaced by faith. I proclaim to You that I will always trust in You, place my faith in You and speak forth Your promises over my life. Thank You for establishing me in the faith, for filling me with Your Spirit and for giving me hope for tomorrow. May You be glorified in my life. I pray for those who have no hope today, that You will reveal to them that You are the God of hope and in You they can experience hope for their lives, a brighter future and faith for a better tomorrow. May those who are separated from You come to salvation through the blood of Jesus and proclaim that He is their own personal Savior and Lord. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolynrice
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 11:47:25

    Amen!

    Reply

  2. chris201johnston
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 18:23:56

    In the recent past I had severe doubt and pessimism concerning the future. It filled me full of fear and basically was ruining my entire life. It was like a poison. I infected me and ultimately spilled into my friendships with others. 1 friend gave me boundaries and another I almost lost completely.

    But I was finally able to find hope and healing. It was both physical and spiritual help. I saw a psychiatrist and got some additional medicine and started reading verses of scripture aloud. I also stopped watching the negative shows I had been watching on television. By reading the Father Love Letters over and over again I finally was able to feel The Lords unconditional love for just a few precious minutes.

    However that will be a memory that I will treasure and remember now and a goal to have that feeling in my heart permanently. Now when the fear of the future arises I have hope because I have found it in God’s unconditional love for me.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 17, 2013 @ 21:38:09

      Yes, Chris, there are those special times with the Lord where we feel especially loved and drawn to Him to be comforted in our fears. He knows exactly what each one of us needs to be able to trust Him and rest in His care.

      God bless!

      Reply

  3. Lois
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 05:49:44

    Amen to this blog!! I would rather be fueled by God and His Word then to live life infested with fear.
    Isaiah 26:3 Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee; because he trusteth in thee.

    Reply

    • aviesplace2012
      Jul 19, 2013 @ 06:56:04

      Yes, Isaiah 26:3 is a favorite of mine! Fear brings torment….who would want to be tormented? Not me! I’ll keep my mind set on the Lord! I trust Him!

      God bless!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

