Teach Me To Number My Days

Psalm 90 12

Psalm 90:12 NKJV So teach us to number our days, That we may gain a heart of wisdom.

 

I woke up this morning with this verse of scripture running through my mind. So, I knew the Lord wanted to say something to me about “numbering my days”. As I researched this verse the Lord lead me to some other scriptures that pertain to this same thought. Let’s look at a few and some key words in the scriptures.

 

Number – Hebrew word manah – Strong’s #4487 – a primitive root; properly, to weigh out; by implication, to allot or constitute officially; also to enumerate or enroll; – appoint, count, number prepare, set, tell.

 

The word for “number” means to weigh our time, to prepare our days and to appoint our time for a certain set course or purpose. The purpose is that we might gain a heart of wisdom in knowing how to live as God would have us according to His plan for our lives.

 

The New Living Translation says this: Teach us to make the most of our time, so that we may grow in wisdom.

 

I don’t know about you, but my heart’s desire is to live out my life to the fullest of God’s plan and purpose for me. As I continued to study, the Lord took me to Psalm 39:4-7:

 

NLT – “LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered; and that my life is fleeing away. My life is no longer than the width of my hand. An entire lifetime is just a moment to you; human existence is but a breath.” We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth for someone else to spend. And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you.”

 

Are you rushing around and not accomplishing anything? Do you “fritter” your time away, so to speak, with no set direction or purpose and then at the end of the day wonder where the time went? Life is so short in comparison to eternity. Our lives are no longer than the width of our hand as God sees them. The writer of this Psalm states that we are “merely moving shadows”. How quickly does a shadow move? As soon as the object that the sun is shining on moves the shadow follows it. Life is said to be like a vapor in James 4:14. And the Lord says that we continually seek after things, wealth that someone else gets to spend and are always looking for hope for a satisfying life that can only be found in Him.

 

Let’s camp out a little while in Psalm 39:4-7 as I feel God has something more to say to us about this portion of scripture. The New King James Version of Psalm 39:4 says “LORD, make me to know my end, And what is the measure of my days, that I may know how frail I am.

 

Measure – Hebrew word Middah – Strong’s #4060 means I) – measure, stature, size, garment. A) measure, act of measurement…B) measurement, size; C) measured portion, extent; D) garment.

 

Measure is used 37 times in the definition of the Hebrew word, middah. I believe what God is saying is that we should understand that our lives are brief and fleeting and that we can be here today and gone tomorrow; so we should make the most of the days that we have, not wandering around wondering what we should do or seeking those things that don’t bring satisfaction, but being knowledgeable of the plan of God for our lives and living disciplined lives in order to fulfill all that He has called us, as believers, to do. We should be knowledgeable of the extent or measured portion of life that we are given!

 

Ephesians 5:15-17 See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

 

Walk – Greek word peripateo – Strong’s 4043 – means I). To walk; A) to make one’s way; progress; to make due use of opportunities. B) Hebrew for, to live; to regulate one’s life; to conduct one’s self; to pass one’s life.

 

With this defintion of “walk” we see that there is a progression that we should be experiencing in our lives; it’s not day by day living, taking what comes along, but a means of living by regulating our time and conducting our affairs with intention and purpose. Looking on in the verse we see the word “circumspectly” which in the Greek is the word “akribos” meaning exactly, accurately, diligently. We are to conduct our lives in a way that is exact, accurate and diligent according to God’s plan and purpose as we come to know what the will of the Lord is. God desires for us to know what His will is and to walk exactly according to it, diligently and accurately. Why?

 

Because according to verse 16 the “days are evil”. What does it mean in saying that the days are “evil”? Well, the Greek word for “evil” is poneros and it means full of labors, annoyances and hardships; bad, of a bad nature or condition. Any one of us can look around us at the happenings in our world and see that we live in a day and age where there are lots of pressures, annoyances and hardships. We live in precarious times where peril and persecutions are getting to be more prevalent every day; Christians are being persecuted more and more for their faith in Christ Jesus. These are perilous days as are spoken of in 2 Timothy 3:1:

 

But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come:

 

Perilous – Greek word chalepos – Strong’s #5478 means harsh, savage, difficult, dangerous, painful, fierce, grievous, hard to deal with.

 

The days we are living in are harsh, difficult, painful at times, and hard to deal with. When we are simply going through the motions of life without any direction we are susceptible to whatever the devil throws at us. But when we are living diligently, with wisdom in knowing God’s will and purpose, we are alert and watchful for the enemy’s attacks. We can be “wise as serpents, and harmless as doves” as Jesus instructed His disciples that they were to be in their interaction with those they would meet out in the world. (Matt. 10:16)

 

As believers in Christ Jesus, we are to be aware that we have a purpose in living to fulfill the course of His will for our lifetimes. In living each day we should be seeking His will, what He would have us to do and how He would have us to walk it out. We are to “redeem” or buy back the time meaning that we are to be aware of not wasting our time, but using wisdom in how we conduct our affairs. We are to walk diligently, regulating our lives making due use of opportunities by understanding what the will of the Lord is, because the days are full of labors, annoyances and hardships; of a time full of peril to Christian faith and steadfastness.

 

Are you wondering today what God’s will is for your life? Romans 12:2 tells us that if you “do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind” that you will be able to “prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” We can know God’s will by spending time in His word and using it as our pattern for living life instead of what we see and hear out in the world. If we renew our minds to God’s word He will reveal His will through it! We can KNOW what God expects of us and the will and purpose for each of our lives by spending time with Him.

prayer

As I finished my study time, I offered up a prayer for the Lord to enlighten my heart to understand fully what He was saying to me. He responded through His still, small voice to my heart:

 

“Be about Your Father’s business, My Child, just as I was. I did not come to serve My own interests, but to do His will. Even as a young child I talked with those in the temple because I was conducting My Father’s business. Choose your time by seeking My will for your life and follow My directions for the management of your days. Only I know the length of your life, the number of your days and how much time you have left to do Your Father’s will. Seek Me and live uprightly for your days are numbered – they are recorded in My book. I know your end from your beginning. You can’t even see into tomorrow or even what may happen later in your day, but I can. Walk closely with Me and I will direct your path.”

 

Father, I thank You for directing my steps, for ordering my days and for leading me in the way that I should go for each day of my life. I pray that I might be more diligent in seeking the specifics of each day to be able to accurately and diligently walk according to Your plan and purpose.

 

Father, I pray for those who may be struggling with not knowing Your will and purpose for their lives. I know, Father, that first and foremost You desire for all to come to salvation, to acknowledge Jesus as their own personal Lord and Savior and to begin living life to the fullest according to Your plan for them. I pray that each one reading this blog will come to the saving knowledge of Jesus, to be saved to be able to live eternity with You when they die. Convict their hearts of their need for Jesus; let them see that He died to save them from an eternity apart from You and bring them into the Kingdom of God. May today be their day of salvation.

 

And Father, for those who are struggling with not know what to do with their days or how to walk according to Your plan for their lives, I pray that You will draw them into a deep, personal relationship with You where they can hear Your voice clearly to know what and how to live their lives to the fullest of the plan that You have for each one of them. Thank You, Father, for hearing and answering my prayer as I offer it up in the name of Jesus. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

